My Prius Prime Drives Itself

Discussion in 'Prime Accessories and Modifications' started by naluaspencer, Apr 24, 2018.

  1. Insighter

    Insighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    397
    258
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Several days! I guess you took your EON inside, plugged it in and just let it run until it was done uploading? What is your upload speed? Thanks!
     
  2. Prime8

    Prime8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    75
    99
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I ordered mine yesterday. Expect to install next week. Eon, Grey Panda, Giraffe = $958USD. I spend 10-15 hours a week in this car, and this will allow me to do that without as much fatigue. No brainer for me. Complaints about liability are mute. I am driving the car. Cruise control and OpenPilot are assisting me to do so by making it a little easier.

    Cruise control and OpenPilot will not handle every situation. That is what I am for. I have seen dramatic video of a Tesla following a car that changes lanes at the last minute with stopped traffic in front of it. The Tesla hits the traffic. I had a Suburban do that to me at 65MPH. I barely handled it, and now recognize the potential for that situation and take steps to protect against it. Cruise control and OpenPilot will have limitations that I will need to learn, and accommodate for.

    I am on the fence at this time regarding keeping DRCC or letting OpenPilot handle longitudinal control. Initially it will be DRCC. Eventually, I will become comfortable with OpenPilot as it evolves and will most likely relinquish DRCC to OpenPilot.

    I am looking forward to becoming a more self-aware Prime8.
     
    chinarut likes this.
  3. Insighter

    Insighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    397
    258
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Hi - I'm considering the same purchase. Why the grey Panda?
     
  4. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Iregret thanks for the info on your trip

    Insighter, search community.comma.ai for an answer to your question about gray panda.There is a good thread.
     
    Insighter likes this.
  5. Prime8

    Prime8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    75
    99
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    It is newer, better, has GPS built-in.

    I originally ordered the white Panda and had regrets after reading more about the grey Panda. Ultimately, $100 did not make much of a difference, and I wanted to make sure I got the best possible technology for this job. I did not want to find myself 2 months later spending $200 because I was too cheap to spend $100 upfront.
     
    Insighter likes this.
  6. Prime8

    Prime8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    75
    99
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I just remembered the other reason. OpenPilot is expected to have the ability to identify stop signs and stop lights in the future, but only with the grey panda, not the white panda.

    Looks like Monday delivery!
     
    Insighter likes this.
  7. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    How do you factory reset EON. Tried to download an install 4.7. and cannot get it to work. Seems control buttons don't respond.
     
  8. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I have figured out how to factory reset. It did not work. I went to Slack was given a line of programming to ssh into EON to change the error. I can open ssh from the command line in windows 10 but am stuck. I have the EON private key on my PC in a text file Eonkey.perm. I have looked at one of Sara's videos from Youtube and don't know if I need to load other programs. I know I don't need PUTTY. I need to be pointed to a way to simply load this line into EON( SSH into NEOS, then run... `LD_LIBRARY_PATH="" content insert --uri content://settings/system --bind name:s:user_rotation --bind value:i:1`).Thank you for your kind support.
     
  9. SaraBBrown94

    SaraBBrown94 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    233
    249
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    You'd need to find a way or command to use the private key through the command prompt if that's where the problem is. Putty is nice because it's so simple. Just download it, rename your private key, select the private key in putty, enter the login stuff, then re-type all those commands you already were given in slack.
     
  10. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I am working with windows 10 that has been updated (April 2018) and has an ssh shell. Directions says it does not need putty. I am not trying to be disrespectful. How to Enable and Use Windows 10’s New Built-in SSH Commands . Picked up IP address for eon from my router after 2 hours trying to get ip address from my messed up EON. It appears to be the same as on the router. I have the eon key on the desktop. I got the key as an attachment from Comma.ai support. I know where to look in the wiki for the key. I was just about to look up your videos and look at the command line to change directories. What I typed didn't work. C:\Users\Dad>ssh [email protected] -p 8022 -i /desktop/eonkey, C:\Users\Dad>ssh [email protected] -p 8022 -i /cddesktop/eonkey and C:\Users\Dad>ssh [email protected] -p 8022 -i /cd/desktop/eonkey. It has been a long time since I have had to use what little computer knowledge I possess. Thank You.
     
  11. SaraBBrown94

    SaraBBrown94 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    233
    249
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Have you tried VIM?
     
  12. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    After playing pin the tail on the screwed up EON. I got lucky and hit the right spot on several screens to uninstall openpilot. I reinstalled the program and it worked. Now I can learn without pressure to ssh. Thank you, Sara, for all your help again.:):):)
     
  13. Insighter

    Insighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    397
    258
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    This is all starting to sound very complicated.
     
  14. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    The first thing I am going to do is state my PC is running Windows 10 when asking for help. I think most of the openpilot developers are not. When I went on Slack to get help I got an immediate response butI was having difficulty SSHing into EON. Don't be afraid to invest in the Comma.AI equipment just because my EON glitched on updating from version 0.4.5 to version 0.4.7.
     
  15. SaraBBrown94

    SaraBBrown94 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    233
    249
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It's not. It's pretty simple for most as it's just plug and play. It just requires a bit of reading instructions beforehand. I still think the hardest part is getting the phone mount facing straight.

    The thing about this which is kinda cool is that you can actually connect and mess with the EON with your Android phone if you can setup a hotspot on it.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  16. hascalzi

    hascalzi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Didn’t like the restart while using op in traffic. Instead of waiting for car in front to move I flipped the control up right after Cruze time out warning to see what would happen. Car didn’t move. Instead, got a very smooth start from dead stop when leading car moved.
     
  17. mkarolian

    mkarolian Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    56
    5
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If anyone is interested, I have an Eon, Toyota giraffe and white panda I'd happily part with for a few $. Love OpenPilot, but my wife uses the car most of the time and would rather drive the old fashioned way.
     
  18. PHV PLS

    PHV PLS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    136
    59
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius PHV
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    How much?
     
  19. ExMachina08

    ExMachina08 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    72
    21
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm curious how trustworthy this setup is compared to the stock DRCC. Specifically in heavy stop and go traffic which is where I spend most of my commutes (I-405 in Seattle area...) The DRCC works ok, but I find that mine is always very slow to accelerate and hard on the braking depending on the profile of the car I'm following. We recently picked up a Subaru with the Eyesight package which uses dual cameras to calculate distance and it is light years smoother and more natural than the Toyota radar based system. Would love if the Comma.ai package can just smooth out the stop and go traffic experience a bit more.
     
  20. JosephG

    JosephG Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    70
    67
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    So, I'm sorry if this is a redundant question, but when you say you retain stock does that mean when cruise control is off you retain the existing ADAS? For example, if you turn off cruise control and then veer out of the lane, will it still steer you back into the lane like it does with the stock system? How about if you disconnect the cruise control wire behind the glove box, do you still retain automatic emergency braking?

    I think this is a very cool piece of technology, but I'm reminded that the Uber that killed a woman in Arizona had turned off the stock collision mitigation system that probably would have prevented the accident. It seems very important to keep the stock AEB functional to me.
     
    Insighter likes this.
Loading...