navigation basics help please

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by lukaczer, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. lukaczer

    lukaczer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    17
    10
    0
    Location:
    Washigton, DC
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Just bought an '06 (to keep our '09 company) and it appears to have navigation but I don't understand how to get it operating. There is a map button on the steering wheel but nothing happens when I press it. I have looked at the manual online and skimmed the forums but I have not figured out what to do. Any help much appreciated on any of these questions:
    How can I tell if the car does have nav? All I know is that it has a map button. It does have Bluetooth which works and the homelink function-
    Am I missing something that is needed to operate the nav system? It looks like this is a dvd based system- am I missing the dvd or does it require a service plan of some sort maybe?

    Any other hints also appreciated

    Thanks, Steve
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    isn't there a button next to the screen?
     
  3. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    What is strange is I had the same problem yesterday when I got turned around. I had no problem on my 2005. I believe in your case and mine is: The GPS did not come with the car. Hopefully somebody will straighten us out. I also have a map position, but I thought what good does that do? It did not ask me where I wanted to go. Perhaps that comes later..............

    That's the problem, there are buttons all around the screen.
     
    #3 Andyprius1, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2016
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    o/p mentioned the steering wheel. i thought maybe that one might not work.
     
  5. lukaczer

    lukaczer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    17
    10
    0
    Location:
    Washigton, DC
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    I do not have a nav button by the screen- just the usual four buttons audio, climate, display and info by the screen. I do have a "map" button on the steering wheel, above the voice activation and phone buttons o the right side of the wheel.

    Thanks.
     
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sorry, i haven't seen my '04 in 8 years, so it's hard to remember how i got to the map.
     
    Andyprius1 likes this.
  7. mts22

    mts22 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    31
    18
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I believe your Toyota dealer should be able to tell you what options/features came with your vehicle. They input the VIN number and it provides all the standard and optional equipment that the vehicle tied to that VIN came with. At least they were able to do that for me with my 2012. Hope that works for you!
     
    Andyprius1 likes this.
  8. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I hit display and the only option is map. I'll explode that more. Right now I'm researching an old Garmin

    It wouldn't explode, so I could only explore
     
    #8 Andyprius1, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  9. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    So logically, if we have a map we must have GPS, right? I will explore.
     
  10. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Bisco, You have never used your GPS? So to the OP. We have different years and models but I think this should also apply to your GPS, AND Biscos.

    1 After car is in ready, push button that says APPS
    2 several options, one should say MAP, PUSH IT
    3 Push every option to learn how it works, give it a destination
    4 Do not do this in the Garage, the GPS MUST SEE the satellite
    If you still have problems your dealer will demonstrate

    It's amazing I really did forget how to use it.

    Have Fun.
     
  11. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base

    You also have a GPS
     
  12. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    APP = MAP = GPS SYSTEM/ NAVIGATION
     
    bisco likes this.
  13. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Sorry DISPLAY INITIATES. HIT DISPLAY.
     
    #13 Andyprius1, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  14. Lucifer

    Lucifer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    1,011
    481
    0
    Location:
    Nh
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    If your hud doesn't have nav buttons on the right side you don't have nav.
    A garmin anything is better than the toyota nav system.

    look for the hidden drawer in front near the floor of the gizmo between the front seats, clean the cabin filter (it's washable)
    clean the traction battery screen (near the door at the right rear seat)
     
  15. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Please members we like and even cherish LIKES so push that button profusely, Especially in the case of Pat, Patrick Wong, is our Ace, Voluntary troubleshooter. He always has great advice.

    After 100,000 likes, we get a new Prius.
     
    #15 Andyprius1, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  16. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sorry, i didn't know if gen 2 & 3 were the same.
     
    Andyprius1 likes this.
  17. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    You may be correct Lucifer
     
  18. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    COME ON BISCO, How do you use your GPS ?

    If you can't answer this you lose your cookie crumbler moniker.
     
    bisco likes this.
  19. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    like you said, app. but is that how the '09 works? did they have apps back in the olden days?
     
  20. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,326
    858
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    No they are slightly different, but I agree that without having the same car one could be giving wrong advice.
    My Prius C does not have a GPS.
     
Loading...