1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need advice on working on / upgrading my 2002 Prius

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by cam7731, Feb 9, 2013.

1. cam7731

cam7731 New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    So, I'm handy. I'm not scared of any mechanical or electrical issue but I don't have a lot of experience working on cars.

I do understand undergrad general chemistry, electronics, programming, basic mechanics, and engine theory. I'm an experienced computer programmer and general gadget / device hacker.

I don't have a lot of car tools other than a socket set and jackstands, and my only manual is the Haynes manual.

I don't really have a garage empty to use, I have to do my work in the cul-de-sac at the bottom of my driveway.

So far I've changed my brakes and oil, and I'm getting ready to checkout my exhaust system because I think my muffler is going.

I've decided to keep my Gen 1 (had it for 4 or 5 years) and work on / improve it rather than replace it. It is throwing a bunch of codes these days and being generally finicky.

However, it still runs. :)

I'm so sold on my car that I not only want to maintain it, I want to pimp it out. First mechanically, then with improved electronics, and finally with things like paint jobs, luxury interior, etc. I intend to do most of the work (not paint or cosmetics) myself.

If the forum will kindly help me, I'll post photos of my progress and keep you guys up to date on issues / resolution.

Here are projects I have in mind to start with:

Replace muffler / exhaust system.
    Replace suspension / tire with superior suspension and better MPG tires.
    Rejuvenate / replace batteries.
    Check / Service / Repair / Replace all major mechanical due to fail.
    Add solar panels to hood, roof, and trunk.
    EV Mode.
    Convert to plugin and add inverter to power house in emergency.
    Convert to flexfuel (ethanol).