1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need Advice: purchase of 2005 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Cadenza, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Cadenza

Cadenza Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

I'm a newbie in the Kingdom of Hybrid and considering a purchase of a used Prius as my daily driver. At the moment, I'm not sure I can get use to the driving dynamics, so purchasing a used Prius to get my feet wet is the objective. Is buying a used Prius with 100k+ miles even a good idea? I would like your advice on what I should know about the weaknesses of this generation. What assessments can I make about the health of the ICE powertrain, Hybrid drive and the CVT? And how do I go about pricing it fairly?

Another question is hill climb performance. I do several camping/backing trips every year to the mountains at elevations of 4,000-to-8,000 ft, mostly in the Sierra-Nevada. How's the hill-climbing with 2-3 persons and ~200 lbs of gear in the Prius?

Vehicle: 2005 MY, ~109,xxx miles, location SoCal, 1-owner, maintained by dealer, original HV battery, options Sound and Navi.

Your advice/input are appreciated.

2. Britprius

Britprius Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Cadenza welcome to PC. I will answer the question about the hybrid drive system first.
    This in California is guaranteed for 150,000 miles or ten years providing certain conditions are met, this includes things such as the traction battery, the transmission, inverter, and cat converter. The Prius is one of the most reliable vehicles on the road.
    However that said some cars exhibit some oil use at 100,000 + miles and no car can be guaranteed not to have an expensive failure at extended millage.