1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need better mileage, still saving money for a car

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by occupant, Jun 25, 2021.

1. occupant

occupant New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I do DoorDash and UberEats for a living among other apps and things and I've been doing my best to track my fuel use and running costs. The $900 beater minivan I've been using is starting to no longer earn its own keep at 17mpg and 850+ miles per week, and is costing me about $130-150 a week in fuel. A 45mpg car would cut that fuel cost by at least $80-100 weekly and would pay for itself quickly. I need to get something better at the WORST possible time in the history of used car prices.

Searching the EPA fuel economy database, came up with a short list of vehicles that are more than ten years old that show up for sale under 4k within a couple hours of my rural Oklahoma location, and it really is a short list:

city/hwy/comb-years-model
    48/45/46 - 04-09 - Prius hatchback
    40/45/42 - 06-10 - Civic Hybrid sedan
    39/42/41 - 03-05 - Civic Hybrid sedan

That's it for over 40mpg. Most of the others are basic Nissan Versas or Honda Fits and hovering around 30-32 combined mpg. I am probably not lucky enough to find the few others that are on the big list (Altima/Malibu/Aura/Camry hybrids 07-10 or Fusion/Milan/MKZ 10-12 hybrids) because they are often above 5k. The few I've seen cheaper than that are usually salvage titled or rebuilt, have obvious existing damage, major mechanical problems, or no title available at all.

There is a 2010 Prius for $1500 but the seller claims it needs an oil pump and that just sounds like "needs the whole engine at a bare minimum" and that doesn't sound good.