Need help diagnosing Hybrid battery issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by app-o-matix, Jul 9, 2022.

  1. app-o-matix

    app-o-matix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    37
    17
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A friend just reconditioned the hybrid battery on his 2007 and within three weeks got the red triangle. Code is P3000. Haven't looked at the sub-codes. Dr. Prius app appears to be indicating a slight difference with Block 10. Pulled out the battery, checked the voltage and load tested each module. The two modules for Block 10 seem right in the average with the bulk of the other cells although occasionally the module shows a higher internal resistance (not reflected in the screenshots). Overall, three modules stand out as less than the others (14, 15, 22), but not significantly.

    Does the load test data reveal which cells should be replaced, if any? Are modules 14, 15, and 22 deficient enough compared to the others to be replaced?

    Also, any reason Block 10 would be problematic? If the two modules in Block 10 test okay, as far as voltage and load, is it likely the IR that is the issue? Not sure how voltage/load/IR interrelate.

    Even though there is not great variation here amongst the modules, the bottom line is that he is still getting the red triangle.

    upload_2022-7-9_14-36-30.png
    upload_2022-7-9_14-37-6.png
    upload_2022-7-9_14-37-26.png
    upload_2022-7-9_14-46-18.png
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 app-o-matix, Jul 9, 2022
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2022
  2. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,964
    776
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Did you check the orange voltage sense connection at the battery ecu for corrosion? That possibly could have some impact on your block voltage readings- maybe.

    It really just looks like one of the modules in block 10 is weak. At 20A charge 10 is slightly higher than all the others, but at moderate 45A discharge, 10 drops 0.6V lower. That's what a bad module does- drops to a lower voltage than others when discharging but goes higher on charge. Any sustained voltage difference over 0.3V supposedly is going to "get the ecu's attention". The higher the difference, the less time it takes to code. (I haven't seen any official Toyota info on specifics)

    A heavy throttle accel 0-60 would draw over 150A and really stress any weak modules. Whatever you are doing on the bench, it's not showing the bad one(s). What is the measured capacity of block 10 modules? How does that compare to the rest?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Meg&Bear and app-o-matix like this.
  3. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    17,810
    11,996
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Weird to have a P3000 without any Battery ECU codes (since the P3000 is basically the HV control ECU saying "yo, you've got Battery ECU codes").

    Maybe it's possible to have just P3000, if its subcode is 388 or 389. Otherwise, a P3000 with no battery ECU codes would suggest the battery ECU itself is kaput.

    So it would be helpful to try to get hold of a scan tool that will show the P3000 subcode, or the battery ECU codes, or (best of all) both.
     
    Meg&Bear and app-o-matix like this.
  4. app-o-matix

    app-o-matix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    37
    17
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Didn’t have the proper OBD device to run TechStream and get more detailed code info. He needed the car operational, so we replaced modules #14, #15, #22, and both modules in Block 10 - #19 and #20. Looked promising in Dr. Prius app at initial start up. Charging now, so will see tomorrow how close all the modules are to each other.
     
    Meg&Bear likes this.
  5. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,964
    776
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Yep, that's the scenario I remember for Dr Prius, it can usually pull hybrid control codes, but only sometimes gets HV battery codes.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Meg&Bear likes this.
  6. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,964
    776
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    You could also read the sticky thread at the top of this forum that reviews several apps and OBD2 bluetooth devices as alternatives to Techstream.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Meg&Bear and app-o-matix like this.
  7. app-o-matix

    app-o-matix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    37
    17
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a compatible OBD2 device, I just didn't have it with me. As it happens, my 2006 is also throwing a P3000 code, so I'll get a chance to look deeper into it and see what is going on. My block #1 is inconsistent with the other blocks, but I'm not sure why because the voltages and IRs of the two modules were on par with the others, although I haven't yet load tested them. Oh the joy of an ailing traction battery.
     
    Meg&Bear likes this.
Loading...