1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Needs opinion-Hybrid System Malfunction- Prius V 2016

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Garry20-20, Apr 28, 2020.

1. Garry20-20

Garry20-20 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Luxury
    Hi to all,

I am new to this interesting forum regarding Prius Hybrid technology.

I have 2016 Prius V (150260 kms) that I was about to park at the mall but than it displayed message "Hybrid system malfunction"-Park your vehicle at the safe place. There was "death triangle" and "engine light" on.

I was bit confused and worried by this message as this is my first hybrid vehicle.

I decided to go home (about 6 kms ) so that I could park it in my parking lot and check. I drove slowly at about 55Km/hr.

At home, I opened the hood, and checked that the Engine coolant reservoir was between F and L level but Inverter coolant reservoir was empty. I tried to find the source of leak if any. I found the pinkish fluid on the upper left corner of the radiator. I also noticed that one of the horn was pressed against the radiator at that corner. (pictures attached)

I tried to recall any damage while driving in recent days but I couldn't (I am the only driver of this car). After recalling hard, I remember,about 4-5 days back, I heard a sound familiar to "windshield chip injury", while driving on the highway, few days back.

But I could not find any such damage on the windshield.

Now I am thinking
    -whether that was the sound of the stone/foreign object damage to my radiator ?
    - or the sound of blown fuse from the hood ?

Since this problem occurred, I am following different post online and specially this blog and getting a lot of important information.

I came to know that the engine coolant system and inverter coolant system are independent of each other including their radiators and pumps.