1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Negative Prius review in 2009 buyers guide

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cycledrum, Nov 13, 2008.

1. cycledrum

cycledrum PSOCSOASP

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I was browsing through a 2009 'Ultimate Car Buyers Guide' from the editors of Automobile magazine at Borders Books tonight, of course going straight to the Prius review.

It had a full page review of the Prius with a large pic of a Silver Pine Mica, that was kinda negative. They called the 1.5 liter engine 'feeble', warned that if going up and down hills, the battery can get drained thus making the 'puny' engine do all the work up the next hill. And said the weight of the car is relatively heavy.

Anyone found the claim of the battery getting drained going up and down hills to be true?

I haven't seen that yet although I'm still pretty new at it.

Don't mean to stir up poop, but geez this review seemed biased. I like (and trust) Consumer Reports much more.

2. V8Cobrakid

V8Cobrakid Green Handyman

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    yep... in really long uphill grades.

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Yeah.. if your hill is the Rocky Mountains at their steepest grades... I've never drained the battery going up the side of a mountain. If any I'll drop from 6 bars to 5 bars and depends on your speed. I've gone up a mountain at 100km/h and dropped to 4 bars but that was because I was doing 100km/h up the mountain.

4. KandyRedCoi

KandyRedCoi S is for Super!

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    never drained completely but i was down to about 2bars...going from LA to LV via the 15North fwy at about 75mph
    5 people in the car, AC on @ 73, trunk full of luggage, and practically a full tank of 87 octane gas

5. patsparks

patsparks An Aussie perspective

Vehicle: