1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Never Plugged In - EV to HV Ratio?

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by drjman, Dec 5, 2013.

1. drjman

drjman Junior Member

I'm picking up a 2014 Base plug in next week and I've been doing a lot of research. I've really been interested in the economics of it all (gas vs electric, regen, etc) and I'm looking for some data that I think may be hard to find. For those who never plug in, what is your EV to HV ratio %?

I work in IT, so I have three desktop computers running 24/7 at home. That, along with some other moderate power usage, puts me deep into tier 4 every month with Southern California Edison. So any extra kwh added to my monthly bill is going to be charged at an average of .31 cents per kwh. So basically I would be paying around 8 cents per electric mile (11 miles per 3kwh charge). Gas at $3.50 a gallon is 7 cents a mile(@ 50mpg. If gas went up to $4 per gallon, that's still only 8 cents a mile with 50mpg. So basically, with my electricity usage, gas prices would have to skyrocket in order for me to EVER want to plug in.

I would like to know from those of you who never plug in, what is your EV to HV ratio? I'm just wondering how many "free" miles I'd be getting by the regenerative process. I know that the ratio will be different for everyone, but just getting a rough idea would help. Like, 1% EV or maybe more 7% EV? Small numbers like that add up when calculating an "effective" MPG.
    I'm still getting the car regardless. The MPG and the carpool stickers are worth the premium in price, period. (Especially when compared to the Sequoia MPG, :eek: )

No, with my job, I can't really reduce my energy consumption enough to matter (i'm 300kwh into tier 4 for November, lol. No chance to drop down in tiers). For those who aren't paying the maximum price per kwh, charging every night is definitely worth it, economically.