New acquisition! Meet Big Red! No MFD connection

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Ianmeister, Nov 28, 2021.

  1. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    5CF25312-2D8F-4288-9013-9422E20A2943.jpeg 594DB4C3-78CD-462A-8DFF-31C8CA4A7F1B.jpeg 67077D80-26B5-4939-B276-644589364538.jpeg Hi all. So I picked up and very straight ‘04 with a very straight body. I got it cheap because the traction battery kinda exploded. So I rebuilt the battery with some good plates I had laying around and boom! Runs great, no codes.

    this car has all the bells and whistles, but it looks like someone tried to replace the MFD screen with a serviced one. It comes on with the car, but there’s no connection to the stereo, climate, navigation, or the energy features. I plan to pop it out and see if it’s not hooked up or maybe he got the wrong year in there? Any ideas?

    (ps, anyone who says “why don’t you just buy a new car?” Will be placed on my ignore list)
     
    vvillovv likes this.
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,761
    8,054
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    when you have an exploded battery like that, the modules to each sides of the burned modules are most likely bad as well. You should replace the ones right next to the burned ones.
     
    fotomoto and Raytheeagle like this.
  3. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    oh I did. I replaced 12 of them in fact.
     
    fotomoto and Raytheeagle like this.
  4. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,127
    345
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I'm interested to know if your MFD part of its unplugged or what the heck could be going on I know somebody here on this list or a similar list found the 7-in screen they bought online plugged it up soldered it up whatever to the rest of the MFD system and it worked I think it was a Panasonic part actually

    SM-A715F ?
     
  5. fotomoto

    fotomoto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    5,443
    3,672
    0
    Location:
    So. Texas
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    This would be my guess. IIRC, the MID changed after 04 so odds are they got a wrong year model.
     
  6. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    yeah. I’ll look into that. Here’s a picture on the back showing the part number. 9F16094F-39CB-47DA-AE32-D98B905C5793.jpeg
     
  7. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    5,080
    5,153
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    vvillovv likes this.
  8. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
  9. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    2,464
    893
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Do you know which trim the 04 is?
    The only reason I'm in this thread at all is that I was not aware the 04 had Nav. The other non working parts on your MFD sound an aweful lot like what's in the early Prime plus and LE s'
     
  10. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,127
    345
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I didn't think '04 had nav either I don't even have nav in my '09 but I have the WMP 3 player and all that stuff

    SM-A715F ?
     
  11. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    well, it has one of these? 31E8974D-5028-49A8-840E-3670943E277D.jpeg
     
  12. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,127
    345
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Yep under seat navigation there it is This is an American car US car whatever cool like I said I didn't tell the early '04s had the nav but apparently could be ordered or they did Great so then that means you have to have a multifunction display that works with the nav I guess maybe somebody changed it and didn't realize maybe they didn't maybe unplug it clean the plug and plug it back up and see what happens

    SM-A715F ?
     
  13. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    hmmm. There’s an idea. I’ll give it a try.
     
  14. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hmmm. So I’ve checked the connections. Everything looks ok. Like I said the screen comes on, but if I hit the nav butting it says “external system not connected” but the box under the seat is connected.

    I did notice the stamp on the stereo says March of 2005 when the car was manufactured on December of 2003. I wish my neighbor was an early Gen2 guru.
     
  15. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    17,976
    12,080
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I nearly always have to give people the disappointing news that the infotainment diagnostic screens on the MFD are not the screens they're looking for (as, for example, here :)).

    On other hand, every now and then, a situation comes up like yours here, where they absolutely are the screens you're looking for!
     
  16. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I don’t follow you, what do you mean?
     
  17. ttou68

    ttou68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    286
    180
    0
    Location:
    40509
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Are there DVD inside the device underneath driver's side seat?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  18. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    17,976
    12,080
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    People very often get a Prius for the first time, and then they get a problem with the engine, say, and they don't have a scan tool to get the trouble codes, but they read on PriusChat that there are a bunch of diagnostic screens built into the MFD, so they go play with those, and then they will post something like:

    and somebody has to break the bad news to them that those screens on the MFD are only for diagnosing the MFD, audio, navigation, and other infotainment electronics, and those codes they found have nothing to do with the, say, engine codes they need, and they still need a regular scan tool for those.

    You, on the other hand, really are trying to diagnose the infotainment system.
     
  19. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    2,464
    893
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Now the question is (in my mind anyways) can the or will your MFD show the diagnostic screens? Since so many of the other screens are not showing up, yet. I've only seen the MFD diagnostic sreens on the 2014 PiP and the maintenence mode screen on the Prime. And I think to get the gen2 diagnostic screens there is a different (chicken dance) order of button press, brake pedal, light switch or whatever, sequence needed to bring it up.
     
  20. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    286
    306
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    So in poking around the internet, it seems that my symptoms point to a damaged MFD. It will turn on, but button response time is VERY slow. There is no communication to the car itself even though I have checked the cable connections repeatedly. I'll try another one from Ebay next, or maybe send mine off to be repaired. There is a repair guy out there that guarantees his work, and even describes my exact problem. https://www.autobeyours.com/Prius%20MFD%20repair.htm
     
Loading...