New android headunit does not have sound

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by abubin, Dec 16, 2020.

  1. abubin

    abubin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    105
    53
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just got an android headunit with 360 cam. Problem is, there is no sound coming from the unit. This has something to do with the JBL system I have. The seller did say it is compatible with JBL before I purchase.

    So now, he ask me to check whether the sound is actually working or not, by connecting a speaker to the sound output. I need to look for that.

    After I have established that sound is working from the head unit, I need to find the wire from my car that goes to the speaker. He said to find a wire that will have 12v when have sound and 0v when sound it mute. Once I found this wire, I am supposed to tap 12v from ACC into this wire? I am not sure it this is correct.

    Does anyone have any idea which wire it is? Or a schematic diagram for headunit with JBL system? Very much appreciate any help that I can get.

    Update: I found a diagram here: 2010 Prius w/ JBL wiring diagram from techinfo | PriusChat

    However, I am unable to decipher those information to find out which wire I should be tapping. Anyone good at reading schematics can help to take a look?
     
    #1 abubin, Dec 16, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2020
  2. Ed Beaty

    Ed Beaty Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    288
    276
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    "So now, he ask me to check whether the sound is actually working or not, by connecting a speaker to the sound output. I need to look for that."
    In case you are not sure about this, it means that you must connect a speaker (say, a small one from a regular home stereo) to your new Android head unit amplifier using regular speaker wire from that amp. If you then get sound, this will establish that the new head unit is energized and actually works. Best way is to connect the new head unit but not install it completely so that you can also connect the speaker and then power up the car and new head unit to see if you get sound.

    What is probably happening (if you DO get sound by doing the above) is that your JBL amp is not being turned on by the new head unit. The wire for this is usually light blue in color in the new head unit harness.
     
  3. Evoking

    Evoking Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    77
    14
    0
    Location:
    Pomona
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I wish I knew what wiring harness my installer used but he didn’t tell but I have an android head unit in my 2010 Prius and I also have a jbl system but he got everything to work with no tapping of anything it works amazing
     
  4. abubin

    abubin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    105
    53
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I tried connecting a speaker to the audio output of the unit and there are no sound. Showed the video to the seller and he says I didn't connect it properly. So now he is sending me another canbus unit. Hopefully this works or else it will be too late to return the unit.
     
  5. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    2,922
    1,355
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The instructions with your new Android unit would be more help than the existing wiring by itself. Along with detailed pictures of how you hooked it up. I doubt you want to jump +12v to any wire. Otherwise you could burn out the unit and the next one as well.
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    11,800
    8,529
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
Loading...