New cells in gen 1

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Solerno, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. Solerno

    Solerno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    12
    1
    0
    Location:
    Winchester VA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hey, guys, I have a 2001 with a bad cell. I have 2 balanced gen 3 cells I'm planning on making fit into the block with the bad cell. Does anyone on here have experience with this/warnings before I go ahead?
     
  2. Brian in Tucson

    Brian in Tucson Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    981
    450
    0
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I could be wrong, but I think you can't mix different generation cells. Differences in size and architecture.
     
  3. Solerno

    Solerno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    12
    1
    0
    Location:
    Winchester VA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    One
    The newer gen cells are longer than gen 1, but I'm told it's still able to physically fit. I mostly want to make sure I'm not going to screw up the computer or something. The shop I ordered them from said they have put them in gen 1's with only a little extra work. He also told me that as long as I replace the block(both cells) with the same gen cells it won't throw any error codes since they are the same/balanced.
     
  4. greasemonkey007

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    283
    97
    0
    Location:
    South Central Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The 2nd and 3rd gen modules are compatible with each other,but neither are compatible with the 1st gen modules. You really don't want the rest of the 1st gen modules anyway. They're all probably shot and about to fail. You're better off to replace all 38 with 3rd gen modules, or buy a brand new one from Toyota. It won't be a cheap fix, but it will be a good one.
     
    dolj likes this.
  5. Eric Baker

    Eric Baker Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    8
    12
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    You can use "gen 1.5" modules in your gen 1. Supposedly these are revised versions of the gen1 module and are identifiable by the metal foil on the side.

    I can't post a link yet but search ebay: gen 1.5 prius modules
     
  6. Brian in Tucson

    Brian in Tucson Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    981
    450
    0
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  7. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,403
    14,151
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
  8. Eric Baker

    Eric Baker Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    8
    12
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Those are the ones I purchased. All had to be deep cycled to restore capacity. 2A down to 6.0V, fully charged, back down to 6.0A, then fully charged again. Most were >2.5Ah at 2.0A discharge after cycling with some up to 4Ah. Not bad for aging fairly cheap cells.
     
  9. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,332
    3,097
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It will be hard to make the bussbars fit if you are mixing longer and shorter modules. The posts will be farther apart than when stock. And the buss bars can't really be stretched to allow the longer distance.

    You could make your own step-shaped buss bars for a better fit. Get a length of copper, cut, shape, drill it to fit.

    Usually you would swap all of the short modules for an entire pack of longer modules.

    I would not recommend mixing gen 1 modules with other gen modules. There ican be too much variability which will cause problems. I suppose you could try installing a charger/discharger to try to mask the differences.
    Realistically I would just go back and get some gen 1 modules, or swapping all for newer gen.
     
    bwilson4web likes this.
  10. Brian in Tucson

    Brian in Tucson Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    981
    450
    0
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Were they the same size as the original gen 1 cells? I almost (tho not quite) wish I needed a rebuilt or new battery. My battery, which was installed in late 2013 probably has these upgraded cells already. Upgraded=assumes that the Ebay seller knows what he/she is talking about.
     
  11. YotaWorxs

    YotaWorxs Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    5
    1
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello, I’ve done this before. It will take a little modification by making your copper bar in an s shape but they will fit and work. I’ve done this 3 times and the vehicles are still on the road. Just my experience.
     
Loading...