New Entune App Suite: “Update Request was Not Successful”

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by mr88cet, Jan 4, 2019.

  1. mr88cet

    mr88cet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    2,001
    1,165
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Regarding our Prime Advanced, ever since they updated the Entune App Suite a couple months ago (or so), when I go to check the charge level, best I can recall, it’s always reported that charge-level-update operation to be unsuccessful.

    Now, it does in fact (accurately) update the charge level, but it nevertheless reports the update operation to be unsuccessful, as far as I can recall, every time. That, usually after a long timeout period has expired.

    What I had seen before the update was that it would take roughly the same way-long time to update my iPhone, but it would usually not report an error. When I start a charge from the app it would actually start charging within 10ish seconds, but still not complete the operation on my iPhone for that pretty-long timeout period.

    Anybody else seeing the same?
     
    #1 mr88cet, Jan 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
    Nic Steussy likes this.
  2. Blauer Glimmer

    Blauer Glimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    448
    169
    0
    Location:
    NY (Southern Tier)
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I am getting the same message
     
  3. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I reported this to Toyota and I have been working with Toyota headquarters since the update was first made available.
    Initially they thought it might be unique to my install since not one else reported it but they were able to recreate the
    issue in their support lab. The last update I received was 10 days ago and the are working on a fix but it might take
    several weeks to develop a fix and do a quality test.

    The request does actually complete successfully so I consider the error message only a nusance.

    J
     
    mr88cet likes this.
  4. stuyguy

    stuyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    127
    111
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    Same message for me too
     
    mr88cet likes this.
  5. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    It’s an erroneous message for you to. Your request was successful.
     
  6. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    There’s a new Entune App in the Apple App Store. It fixes the bogus error message after an ad hoc update request. Not sure if any new bugs were introduced but from the update log that’s all that was fixed.
    J
     

    Attached Files:

    Nic Steussy and benagi like this.
  7. bresna

    bresna Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    178
    139
    0
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    As I mentioned in another thread, I believe this last update also messed up the navigation system. It used to tell you which side of the road your destination was on. Now it doesn't. I am pretty sure that when I bought this in March of 2017, it didn't, but then they fixed it with an update. Now they broke it again.
     
  8. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Mine still says “on right” or “on left”. Always has. Never looked for an option to control it.
     
  9. Dennis_MA

    Dennis_MA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    141
    75
    0
    Location:
    Amherst, MA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    The update on my iPhone fixed the problem you described. I was having the same problem before I updated the entune software on my iPhone. Now the charge management function works perfectly.
     
  10. mr88cet

    mr88cet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    2,001
    1,165
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Hmmm... You’re suggesting that an update of the app running on our phones affects how the NAV running on our P.Primes’ computers report arriving at a destination?
     
    schja01 likes this.
  11. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I rarely start charging the car via the app but today I did and got the “unsuccessful “ error but the car did successfully start charging. I guess they fixed status update function but not the start charging function.
     
    mr88cet likes this.
  12. mr88cet

    mr88cet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    2,001
    1,165
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I have recently seen considerably fewer error messages, but the operations still take a long time, and succeed anyway. Others reported that they fixed this with an app update, so that’s probably what I’m seeing as well.

    As before, in cases where I’ve test-monitored the car at the time I tell it to start charging, it actually starts charging long before it reports back that the command has completed.
     
  13. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,093
    744
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    The point I was trying to make is they fixed the exact problem I reported but there was a similar bug hiding in the wings that has not been addressed.
    Related...
    I called Entune App support yesterday to report this newly discovered faux error message and the rep tried to tell me I needed to have the ICS Recall performed to fix the issue. Grrrrrrr.
     
Loading...