1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New front axles loose

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by J Conner, Apr 23, 2019.

1. J Conner

J Conner New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I just replaced both front half axles on my 2004 Prius with GSP parts. Within a week I noticed a click when braking or accelerating. There seems to be significant play in the axles, which must be the source of the clicking sound. I can't remember how much play was in the original half axles, but they sure didn't have enough play to produce a clicking sound. Anybody have experience with this? I'm no mechanic, but I would think there should be no play at all in the front axle. Assuming these are loose CV joints causing the play, what is the risk in driving with them like this? I would attach some videos, but the chat site does not appear to allow the format.

2. Skibob

Skibob Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Were these brand new or rebuilt half shafts. My experience with rebuilt ones is that they are junk, junkyard ones work out better.

3. J Conner

J Conner New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Brand new GSP front axles.
    Any sanity check on this topic welcome.
    This is a continuing saga from a CV boot replacement thread BTW...I noticed that there was a comment in the previous thread that even new axles can show up with clicking sounds. Looks like I am now confirming that.
    And I am attempting to provide the video links here from Zippyshare site
    Outer wheel shake & click video - moving the PS wheel showing play and axle clicking
    underneath PS axle shake & click video - this is lying underneath the car, rotating the PS wheel, looking at the PS axle, and then beyond at the DS wheel

4. The Critic

The Critic Resident Critic

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three