1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Guy! Need buying advice!

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Arwin_S, Jun 30, 2017.

1. Arwin_S

Arwin_S New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hi All!

Im new to ev/hybrid world but have been a lurker for some years. I recently got a new job which has me commuting approx. 50 miles round trip. All would be fine if I didnt have a truck. While I love my Toyota truck I want to save gas and, I do want to be a little greener. I have been doing a ton of research and originally thought about picking up a Gen 2. But after much deliberation and research I narrowed it down to a Gen 3 2011 and newer. I am pretty dead set on trim III or IV. After a few test drives of some II's I am confident the Prius is where I want to be for commuter vehicle but now I know I want higher trim.

I found a 2011 IV w/ solar roof package with 66,xxx miles priced at $13,992. KBB says thats a fair price. Its the higher end of what I originally wanted but if I can use this car forever then it is worth it to me. Carfax says clean title and one previous owner to the dealership that owns it now. However, two TSB's (#E0E, and #G0U) have not been remedied but from what I can tell these are simple fixes at a Toyota dealership.

My plan is to go see, test drive and take this guy home Saturday.

I have a couple of questions:

- Apart from the normal inspections I would do myself (cosmetic issues, visual mechanical issues, leaks, etc) when I test drive what other things should I look out for from you more experienced owners?

- From what I have been reading apart from a few 2010's do 2011's have any known major mechanical issues I should be aware of?

- Any other advice you could give this willing new member?

Thank you all in advance. Looking forward to being a part of this place.

Cheers

-Arwin

2. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle: