New Prime Owners: (Things discovered/Likes/Dislikes)

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by huskers, Nov 20, 2016.

  1. bodgm

    bodgm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    58
    41
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Do you use Google Assistant using your Prime voice recognition?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  2. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    10,840
    10,374
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    On my Gen 4 there is a menu option. I set mine so all doors unlock since I usually place some things on the back seat before I drive to work.
     
  3. MNdriver

    MNdriver Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    549
    572
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    This is also possible in the Prime. I immediately set it to this option, since I load my dog into the back seat each day.

    Edit - sorry, guess this option was obvious from the comment above.
     
  4. GT4Prius

    GT4Prius Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    526
    404
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Excel
    On the Euro version, mine came with this disabled, and it requires the use of an OBD2 device or a visit to the dealer to turn it on.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,445
    11,992
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Ahh sorry I should've been more specific.

    Yes you can change the way the door unlock functions (driver-only vs. all doors). I was referring to the 2 sec timer. You can shorten that to reduce that awkward length of time, standing by the door, waiting for all the doors to unlock. (If one wanted to keep the driver-only function)
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  6. GT4Prius

    GT4Prius Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    526
    404
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Excel
    Sorry, I should be clearer that I am talking about the facility to open all the Windows or close them all, with a long press of the appropriate buttons on the remote.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  7. inferno

    inferno Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    1,070
    403
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Today and yesterday I got the question to run the AC while the car is plugged in. I only get this message for 5 seconds after I turn the car off and then it's gone.

    I tried going through settings but couldn't find anything about it.

    My feeling is that this is for the battery? But I'm still not understanding this lol. And why is it so hidden? I remember seeing the battery heater option, but not AC/cooling one!
     
  8. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    38,233
    26,974
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Sounds like the interface has a ways to go. You guys are the beta testers.
     
    bisco and Prodigyplace like this.
  9. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    10,840
    10,374
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Beta testers who paid for the "privilege"! Just like those who jump to upgrade to the latest Windows.
     
    bisco and Mendel Leisk like this.
  10. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    38,233
    26,974
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I understand there was a late stage "shake up" regarding the styling, maybe meaning less resources for testing, and a generally rushed atmosphere. The lack of alternate speed display (kmh or mph) on early 2016's for example: adequate beta testing should have caught that.
     
  11. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,445
    11,992
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    I thought that was for the regular Prius?

    That message defaults to "Yes" so really it's only if you don't want the A/C to cool the battery, do you need to press the button on the screen. Really, it's just letting you know that it'll run the A/C to cool the battery.

    I guess this is Toyota's solution (for air cooled batteries) vs. the liquid cooling (Tesla, later model LEAFs).
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  12. alexcue

    alexcue Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    338
    304
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I think mine defaults to NO. I have to choose YES every time.
     
  13. Janice N

    Janice N Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    46
    56
    10
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,171
    38,085
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    'speed lock override' allows you to program destinations in the gps, while the car is moving. this unit also allows you to use the rear view camera when you want, as well.
     
    #294 bisco, May 20, 2017
    Last edited: May 20, 2017
    Janice N likes this.
  15. Bobdski

    Bobdski Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    37
    19
    0
    Location:
    Rockaway, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    SD port is not so secret, you maps are on that card.
     
  16. Riversong

    Riversong Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    28
    48
    4
    Location:
    Broadalbin NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I am very pleased to discover that my late 1980s garage door opener is compatible with Homelink! I programmed it tonight. One less thing I have to keep in the car.

    My only dislike is that we still don't get CarPlay.
     
    ruby and TonyPSchaefer like this.
  17. ArcPrime

    ArcPrime Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    201
    164
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    After drove my Prime for a few weeks, I decided to drove my old 2004 Lexus ES330 today. Somehow my left foot can't find Parking brake pedal. Same thing happened to me last weekend when I drove my wife's Lexus RX350, my initial thought was RX350 is a SUV sits different. Prime driver seat feels better (roomier) than my ES330 but Parking Brake Pedal position is narrower than my other two Lexus/Toyota.
     
  18. CoastRider

    CoastRider Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    305
    396
    0
    Location:
    Off into the sunset...
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Not a Prime owner but have a question please. image.jpg
    I see a lot of Primes around town. What are the two long vertical red areas on each side of the bumper for? I think I saw the yellow blinker(?) down there when a Prime was making a left turn. Seemed like an odd place to have the blinker.
     
  19. alexcue

    alexcue Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    338
    304
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    They are reflectors, if I'm not mistaken it's code that some areas in back have reflectors not just lights.
     
  20. ems2158

    ems2158 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    162
    110
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I've had my Prime Advanced for a couple of days now. I have the Entune app installed. The latest version of Entune states it has "New and improved specific messaging for the Prius Prime Remote Commands".
    I've looked at everything in the Entune app and don't see anything related to this.
    Anyone know what they're referring to?
     
Loading...