1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Prius c owner reporting

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by PriusC'er, Feb 27, 2012.

1. PriusC'er

PriusC'er Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    We picked up a Summer Rain Prius c Trim#2 five days ago. My wife is the primary driver but is not interested in posting on this forum. I've never posted to a forum before, but I figure we owe you guys because I monitored this site and it helped me decide to purchase the c. Thank you all for contributing to this site.

It is exactly as it has been described and looks exactly how it does on the review sites, so there's not a lot I can add to review-type information or photos.

I can only give you a non-reviewer, non-gearhead point of view. I haven't driven any other new sub-compacts or any other new cars recently. I can only compare it to the cars I've been driving for the past 15 years: a 1995 Toyota Camry 4 cyl. and a 2001 Honda Odyssey van.

From where I am coming from, the modern electronic amenities are really fancy. The bluetooth phone hookup works perfectly. All the controls on the steering wheel are very convenient.

The ride is smooth enough and better than I had hoped. I know it's not a Lexus or Volvo and it's not heavy, so I did not expect a dead quiet ride. But it beats all the rattling and shaking of my 17-year old car.

I'm not a race car driver, so I think it has plenty of power and zip, even in Eco Mode. It makes a louder revving sound, like it's straining, when you punch it that does not correspond to the engine performance, but it does accelerate quickly.

It does everything I need it to do in regular driving and it handles well in the turns. The steering is very tight (responsive), tighter than we are used to so I find I accidentally zig the car every now and then. The turning radius is really tight which comes in very handy.