1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Prius owner - Ideas on sounds(not knocking sounds)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by chowdan, Jun 3, 2016.

Tags:
  1. chowdan

chowdan New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey everyone! New to the forum, however long time lurker. I'm an avid hypermiler who used to run in a 2002 Honda Civic manual transmission. Average MPG on that car(City/Highway mix - located in Seattle so highway not always highway speeds) was 42MPG with maximum of 58mpg since running with an Ultragauge.

The time came when the constant repairs on the civic was getting to me and I was ready to switch to something that can push my hypermiling skills to the max. Convinced the GF to allow me to sell our beloved Civic and get something a bit "nicer", especially since we have stable jobs(shes a nurse, i'm a software test engineer).

Well long story short, after renting a 2015 Prius over the weekend for our minication, I was sold on it. Averaged(according to the internal MPG) 55mpg over 780 miles of driving(driving highway down to the oregon coast and back).

Well just yesterday we made a purchase on a 2012 Prius II with 53k miles on it. We are now proud owners of the Prius family! I love the vehicle and am tuning the ultra gauge to the car! In the last 50 miles i've driven, I've achieved 51mpg!

Anyways now that we are owners of it, I am hearing some noises that I'd like to get clarified as to what they are.