1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New to here. Has anyone bought hybrid battery oversea?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Chris Cooper Jr., Jul 20, 2022.

1. Chris Cooper Jr.

Chris Cooper Jr. New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all, newbie here.

Last year I bought a used 2012 Gen 3 Prius at a good price. It was 150k miles on it and over the warranty for sure. Dealer only said it may require replacing the hybrid battery. Pump, inverter, and brake accumulator have been already replaced. The driving experience is not bad actually but showed the "P0A80" code for 3 or 4 times. :)Also my car used more oil than I expect.

My dealer quoted me two solutions, a used hybrid battery and a brand new OEM battery. I prefer the new one, but it will cost me another $2.5k. Then I googled hybrid battery suppliers and found a company named TOHOP battery. The website shows they are a manufacturer from China, and offered me 2 years or 100k miles warranty and duty-free delivery to my door. The price is acceptable as well, and the battery appearance is just the same as the one from my dealer.:sneaky:

Just have a little doubt now. Does anyone in the forum know about this company? Trustworthy? Anything I need to be aware of for international trade? Would be amazing if someone helped:giggle:.

Thank you!

bisco likes this.
  2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    International trade can be tricky. If a warranty claim comes up, how do you ask for the warranty? The item is super heavy to ship. What is the price you get from China?

You can get an original Toyota battery for around $1700 online. Or you can get an already imported Chinese battery at newpriusbatteries.com for $1600 shipped to your door.

BTW what dealership sells a used battery as an option? First I've heard of this

3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle: