1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New to owning a Prius - Noises are they Normal?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by sdrocker, Feb 2, 2015.

1. sdrocker

sdrocker Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi All,

I bought a 2007 Prius last Wednesday and it's my first time owning a prius. It has 162,900 miles on it and was taken well care of and maintained well according to the previous owner. The owner was very honest and showed me all the service records. There are no maintenance or warming lights coming on.

I'm hearing some noises and wanted to make sure they are normal. Can anyone tell if they aren't and what I should check for?

1. Occasionally at a stoplight I will hear a faint beeping noise almost like an alarm clock but quite faint. I think I've seen this a couple of times when I first start it up and am in my driveway. I haven't heard it while I am driving. Is this normal?

2. Occasionally I hear a short duration buzzing noise (it is also faint) while at a stoplight or even in the driveway and occasionally while I am driving. I'm not sure if that buzzing noise happens when it switches from electric to gas and then back from gas to electric. As I said the noise is faint but audible. Is that normal?

There may have been another noise I heard but I forget the behavior. I will post when I remember or if I hear it again.

Thanks!

2. Yakoma

Yakoma Active Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    1) Can't recall hearing this one

2) Is it the same buzzing you hear when you shut down? I get that one when I shut down and I think it's the pump moving coolant into the thermos (someone will correct me if I'm wrong there).