1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New to Prius and New used Prius 2008

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Purrus, Dec 31, 2019.

1. Purrus

Purrus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello people, I am a new newbie. I got a 2008 Prius with 149k. At the dealer it was showing a code for the O2 sensor/catalytic converter. They ended having to put in a new converter. The gas mileage sucks. I have gone 150 miles on 2/3 tank of gas. It has been around 20 to 40 degrees in Denver for the last week. I have read about the tire pressure (is checking the pressure in this really cold weather going to be ok). I read about the voltage level and I did the voltage check with the *start car with no brake, three lights on off and go to menu. My voltage read 11.8. Then I lost my way on the next step. Will this affect my gas mileage. Is it time for a new 12v? This was a one owner car and his carfax is full of service history. The dealer did an oil change. In the guys manual he wrote the specific synthetic oil he used. I asked the salesman if he knew which oil he used and he said no. If they put regular oil instead of the higher synthetic will that affect the mpg? I know this is long and a lot of questions but I want to be nice to this car. I have one more question. When I'm sitting idle it will hiccup and jerk a little when it switches between battery and gas (?). should I be concerned. Thanks guys for helping. I need to be informed and know what to expect. And please don't use too many letter/number acronyms. ^ ^
    = =

ydpplqbd likes this.
  2. ydpplqbd

ydpplqbd Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three