1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New/used 2013 mpg Qs

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by uboreeves, May 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. uboreeves

uboreeves New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi there - I just purchased a used CPO 2013 with 43K mi on it and I am new to understanding how to maximize mpg. I drive less than 10 mi on most trips around town (hilly terrain in Asheville NC - mix of highway and city for those miles) and so far in the 2 days I've had it I am getting low 40s mpg (41, 42, 46). I've needed AC a little bit, but I'm not too impressed with this mpg and was expecting higher. I've heard of this "warm up penalty" but I don't know if that is what is contributing to the lower mpg or if it's something else. Thoughts appreciated. Thanks.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and welcome!

the best thing to do is read through some of the mpg advise threads. there's a particularly good questionnaire sticky in the gen 2 forums.
    then calculate your mpg's at the pump by the tankful. a few quick things to check are tires pressure, air filter, oil level and 12v health.
    all the best!(y)

3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Certainly 10 miles is still going to be warming up, and in my rare visits to Asheville, it was very hilly. (To be honest, in part i was there to experience hilly, Mississippi is very flat) I find that the Prius likes high temps into the 90sF, before the MPG begins to drop off again. Use the A/C, you do not want the battery to get too hot.
    I would make sure I bought Low Rolling Resistance tires when they need replacing, and that the oil is not over filled.
    You will also retrain yourself to drive more frugally, low gentle braking yields more MPG than sudden sharp braking, as an example.