1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Volvo PlugIn planned

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by sugar land dave, May 22, 2008.

1. sugar land dave

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  2. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    wow!! now that sounds cool. no prices or availability here announced.... ya, Europe with $9 gas gets all the good stuff. gas too cheap around here still. CMON $6 a gallon!!

3. SureValla

SureValla Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
  4. adhd

adhd New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    have a volvo v50 we picked up in Sweden last year on their overseas delivery program. a plug in might be my next purchase, especially if I can get another free trip to europe.

5. burritos

burritos Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'm not an engineer or physicist, just college physics. However, from a basic physics point of view, it seems that a series hybrid would thermodynamically seem less efficient. Of course both the series and parallel hybrids would be equal in recapturing the energy by converting kinetic energy to battery electrical energy during idling slowdown or during breaking. However, when you use an ICE to charge up a battery to THEN drive a motor train there would be less efficieny in this multi step process than just using an ICE to drive the motor train in the first place.

Am I just being a toyota hybrid homer? Is there something in the series hybrid I'm missing?