1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Windows In Basement: Worth It?

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by boulder_bum, Jan 5, 2010.

1. boulder_bum

boulder_bum Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I spend a lot of time in my basement and it gets very cold in the winter.

Currently, I have three full-sized windows down there that feel cheap, and have aluminum frames but not any problems with condensation or drafts that I can tell. However, it's noticeably colder than upstairs, and feels very chilly in the winter.

I'm considering putting in low E4 glass with better composite frames, but I wondered if someone out there knew much about windows (by trade or experience), and want to know exactly how much of a difference I can expect them to make.

Any advice?

2. Radiant

Radiant New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Windows would insulate better but it will probably be chilly in the basement by nature - that is why it is cooler in the summer despite +100 temps. To be honest I see you live in CO? It might be good to have a bit of airflow in the basement due to the natural surroundings.
    Please don't run screaming from the room when I say uranium is a rock, it is present in CO and it decays into radon. It is normal in CO to have high radon in basements, and what keeps if from settling in your basement is airflow.
    I would recommend a good fuel efficient electric space heater. They can be very nice.

3. brad_rules_man

brad_rules_man Hybrid electric revolutionizer

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Do you use the windows for light? I know that sounds silly but during the winter I found our basement windows weren't providing any more light than the lights in the room. So I actually covered them with foam during the winter.