1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newb Looking at 2005 with 194k

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by vol96, Apr 14, 2012.

1. vol96

vol96 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Test drove it yesterday. Red car with exclamation point always on, battery cooling fan always on, ICE always on except on decel. Leather is in good shape, nav seems to work OK, radio OK. Maybe some lifter noise from ICE. Slight thud when brake pedal lifted, feels similar to drivetrain slack in a RWD.

As I said I'm a newbie, but I have been researching Prii.

I'm interested in this high mileage Prius because 1) lowest asking price I've seen ($7000), 2) I like to work on cars and, tho I have no experience with hy's I'm not affraid of replacing the HV battery if necessary 3) more HV replacement options available, 4) economy, assuming I dont buy a money pit.

Any comments on the issues noted above?

2. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    That doesn't sound healthy to me. Could be a failed HV battery, esp with 194k miles. The cooling fan on the HV battery is often on but usually at lower speeds after the car has been worked hard. If it's on full almost straight away then it doesn't sound promising. Also, the engine will run continuously for the first few minutes until the car has warmed up and then it will cut. If it's just always on then that again sounds like a failed HV battery.

It depends how much of a challenge you want and your experience with High Voltage batteries. If you don't have a clue then you really don't want to be messing around with a 200+ volt DC battery. IT COULD KILL YOU!

It is possible to change individual cells and such like but it does involve balancing them and all sorts of stuff like that - which if you're after a project, noting the warning above, might make it viable.