1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie and need traction batt info

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by bmwbob89, Aug 8, 2018.

1. bmwbob89

bmwbob89 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hi All, I am new to Prius. I've been a BMW tech for 45 years and wanted to learn about these cars. Best way is to buy one. I picked up a 2005 with 188k and the Triangle of Death light on. The light turned out to be an inop cooling fan. Fixed the corroded wires and now curious what I can expect for battery life. It only varies about .1 volt when driving between the cells on an Torque app. When parked for about 5 minutes all cells read 16.0 and one is 16.1. Mileage is about 37mpg with the ac on. Brutally hot and humid this summer. I don't want to buy a battery unless its necessary. By the way the price is dropping for new Toyota ones. I found one dealer selling them for 1625.80 plus core which should be refunded. Thanks for the help and ask me any necc questions.

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Congrats... Welcome to our slow driving vehicle geekery... There's always more to learn about Prius...

On PriusChat back in the day we used to compare Toyota recalls and warranty to BMW... It was often said, who else but Toyota will do free recall repair work on 10 year old cars? Then someone would chime in about the opposite way that BMW does it compared to Toyota.

Anyways, if you want to learn how your battery pack is doing... Pull the pack for cleaning, inspection, testing and reconditioning. Getting spread sheet data on the status of each of the 28 modules will be valuable in maximizing the life of the battery pack, as well as replacing a bad module before it heats up and damages other modules is the way to go.