1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie. Bought an '05 & promptly killed it.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Gypsy62, Apr 23, 2018.

1. Gypsy62

Gypsy62 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a pro soob mechanic.
    This is not a subaru.

I figured a cheap older Prius would get me to finally embrace electric. I've driven over 150k miles on WVO in heavily modified Ford 6.9/7.3 diesels; I loathe petroleum.

I needed a car to haul some AV gear from Reno back to Baja. I decided to buy a Prius, it was time for >40mpgs.

Took the bus over Donner Pass to Sacramento to buy an '05 with 277k miles for $3k. Clean Title. Did street & highway test-drive, all normal.

Again, I'm a subaru mechanic. I know fully well that to buy a vehicle and immediately stress it by ascending a 7,500' mountain pass is NOT advisable.

It handled Donner fairly well. Slowed to 45mph during one extended steep climb. Goofy "Snowflake In Road!" light came on; I stopped and checked for overheating symptoms but all clear (38f outside temp).

NEXT DAY IN RENO, running errands in town:
    - Red Triangle of Death
    - "VDC", or whatever that is.
    - CEL
    However, still ran well. Consumer OBD2 reader showed no codes; however, a shop's pro reader w/hybrid showed all good battery cells, no codes. Shop reset the OBD and adios Triangle/CEL/VDC.

Two hours later, back on.
    I'm not afraid of CELs; on many vehicles they'll phantom-cycle on/off for any # of minor reasons. Some soobs, Reg vs Prem fuel can throw a code.

NEXT DAY, DRIVE SOUTH ON 395:
    - On steep uphill grades, slow to 15mph
    - Up one short stupid-steep hill in TJ, 5mph
    - On downhills, fast, w/occasional "sticky" throttle sensation
    - Confirmed 48mpgs!

It got me and the gear home.
    Not bad, considering.

My opinion:
    Old, small 1.5ltr gas engine is TIRED (rings).