1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie here buying a 2002 w/ 168,000 miles & scared

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Lorilafs3, Sep 14, 2017.

1. Lorilafs3

Lorilafs3 New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just put a down payment on a 2002 Prius that seller wants $2000 for after he does some work. He's replacing rear brakes and tires, struts (it sounds like haunted house steps going around corners!), fixing the air conditioner and complete detailing. I know nothing about hybrids, but my son said old hybrids are known to have large battery problems which are expensive to fix. Is that true? Also I noticed some rust at the tip of the hood and a little under the hood (clamps) that he is not attending to and a crack in the rear bumper he isn't fixing. I'm more concerned about the mechanical stability of this car than how it looks. I also ran the VIN and there are 72 recall/service notices on this car! I can't tell if they have or have not been done. If I call a local Toyota dealer and give them the VIN will they be able to tell me?
    I have no money to fix anything in the near future. I also will be transporting my 96 yr old Mom in it. I am 64 and disabled. Am I buying a headache or joyride??!! Thanks for your help!

2. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you go to Toyota's owners site and enter the VIN they should be able to tell you all service that was performed by a dealer.

You have what we call a Generation 1 Prius. The forum is here.

Generation 1 Prius Discussion | PriusChat

#2 Prodigyplace, Sep 14, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
    RCO likes this.
  3. Lorilafs3

Lorilafs3 New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks so much!

RCO and Prodigyplace like this.
  4. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid