1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie here... car battery died twice today. Help, please.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Cuda911, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Cuda911

Cuda911 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hey all, first time poster here. About five moths ago I bought a 2007 Prius for my daughter. I have to admit, I don't know crap about these cars. I am very well known on the Porsche forums.

She called me a half hour ago saying that the car died twice today.... nothing would turn on at all, so she had the car towed. Is there a "normal" battery that maybe needs replacing? What else should be checked? Sorry for my naive question, but I have zero knowledge of Priuses (or is that Priusi?).

Thanks in advance!

Mike

2. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Welcome!
    There is a 12 volt AGM battery located beside the rear cargo area. It is vented to the outside so be sure any replacement is also vented similarly. You do not want fumes in the passenger area.
    Many people like to use the Optima Yellow Top as a replacement.

Actually it was determined the plural is Prii.

3. Cuda911

Cuda911 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks! I will check that today. Keeping fingers crossed that all it needs is the 12-volt battery replaced!

4. offib

offib Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    If you live in a hot climate (when temps can be +25C for most of the summer), it would be best to get an oem 12v.

Before I got the keys to my 07, no one in my family understood what the problem was. They don't slam the door shut or leave the vanity light on and they had the gall to call the prius shite...