1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie here - Huge reliability question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Bigbrownsound, May 1, 2011.

1. Bigbrownsound

Bigbrownsound New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Brand new to this board. The reason im here, is I think I have an unique situation. I looking for a used Prius - but - have a question about my situation. I deliver newspapers for a living on a 88 mile motor route, much like delivering the mail, with a ton of stop and go being involved. I have about 400 stops during the night, and drive the route myself 300 days a year. My question is, are there any Prius owners on this site - that have used their car in a similar situation. I would love to save the gas money, but, have reservations if this car is hardy enough for this kind of use. My concerns are the transmission, and the life of the battery, due to the stops. So - anyone out there use their Prius like this?? Thanks.

2. SageBrush

SageBrush Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    You would not be the first mail delivery Prius owner.
    And if you learn to brake gently for each stop the fuel economy will be much, much better than your current vehicle.

Reliability will be fine. Your use is really no different than 100% city driving.

3. seilerts

seilerts Battery Curmudgeon

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius