1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie here. Should I buy used Prius?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by TDuran, Nov 21, 2015.

1. TDuran

TDuran New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Looking at a 2005 Prius with 129,000 miles. I hear the battery lasts about 150,000, I also hear the "hybrid battery" or "battery pack" goes for over $3000. Is that the battery this car would have? Or is that only in the plug in Prius? Sorry, really a newbie, I know nothing about Prius.
    Advice?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! you've come to the right place. spend as much time here as possible, before purchasing an old prius.

1) that is the battery, a plug in is much more expensive.

2) at that age and mileage, you're tempting fate, but the majority of cars won't have a problem for at least a few more years/miles.

3)you can buy a new one for a bit over $2,000., but if you can't diy, installation is fairly expensive unless you have a local mechanic who could easily do it in an hour or two.

4)whenever purchasing a prius that is out of hybrid warranty, (8 years 100,000 miles in ny for older models and 10 years 150,000 for newer, not sure of the cutoff date) you should have enough money to cover battery replacement if you aren't a skilled auto diy'er.

5) there are cheaper battery options such as rebuilt or salvage, but they have proven to be iffy.

6) all the best!(y)

#2 bisco, Nov 21, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  3. WilDavis

WilDavis Senior Member

Top RH Corner of RH Coast on L side of The Pond
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II