1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

newbie here with a broken 04 with no power

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by trillco, Feb 25, 2022.

1. trillco

trillco New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    i was just gifted a really clean 2004 prius by my neighbor, he told me the car was driving and just died so the parked it. it sat for over 2 years now, i was able to hook up a battery and get it in neutral to push it home. now that i have it in the garage and up on jackstands i noticed the catalytic converters and the HV battery had been stolen. i was able to source a rebuilt HV battery and a new 12v thinking thats all i needed to get it going. well its still dead. here is what i have done so far.
    installed HV battery and 12v. HV shows 235v and the small battery is at 12-13.5
    dome light, head lights and brake lights all work, the radio, hvac all works but the dash is dark. when i try to turn the car on the mfd shows only one bar on the screen and the check engine light turns on.
    i tried force start and only the radiator fans turned on.
    i also checked for the inverter pump and it is definitely working, i can see it flowing in the reservoir.
    also made sure the orange switch on the battery was locked down.
    what i noticed is that there is no power coming out of the HV battery after the relays. i can hear them clicking when i double press the start button but nothing happens after that.
    the only code i was able to pull from the car was a p0a80. i cleared it and i hasnt came back but then again the car has not been able to into drive or reverse or even able to get the ICE to start.
    i dont know what else to do or check to get this thing going. hopefully someone has had this issue and can help me out. thanks in advance

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II