1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie - Inverter Coolant Pump Leak

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by LaBruja, Nov 13, 2015.

1. LaBruja

LaBruja New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi there, I'm a new (very happy) owner of a used 2008 Prius. Car only has 67K miles and other than the leak, appears to be in good shape.

I noticed the coolant was low in both reservoirs, filled it up (with the proper SLLC), but a day or so later the check engine light came on. Took it to mechanic (dealer is 2 hours away), he read and cleared the codes, then found the leak. Appears to be leaking where the lower hose attaches to the pump, so not sure if it's the pump or the hose that's the problem. I've also noticed that the pump seems a bit noisy for a few minutes after shutting off the car (of course, I'm new to the Prius so not totally sure what "normal" sounds like).

First question: after doing some reading on the maintenance forums, I'm figuring I should maybe just replace the hose AND pump? as people seem to be recommending a preventative pump replacement at 100K miles anyway.

Second question: given distance to dealer and local mechanic prices, I'm planning on making the repair myself (I do have the proper tools and thanks to PriusChat have found great instructions). However, it'll probably take me a few weeks to get the parts and find the time to do it. In the meantime, is it going to harm my vehicle to continue to drive it, as long as I am diligent about keeping the coolant topped off?

Thanks in advance!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! did your car get the inverter pump recall?

3. andrewclaus

andrewclaus Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius