1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie purchasing a Prius - Need a mentor to guide me

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Anerudh, Oct 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Anerudh

Anerudh New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie here out to purchase my first pre-owned Prius here in Dallas. Just graduated and the new job kinda pays low.
    I've looked at how the Prius drives, have been a huge fan of how efficient this car is, how less of a gas guzzler it is.
    My roommates tell me the Prius is a complex machine with lots of fluids, batteries and maintenance compared to a regular car and are dissuading me from buying one saying what you can't understand or fix on your own, you shouldn't buy. Especially since i'm buying a pre-owned Prius.

I also googled that batteries require a good temperature to be efficient and that the Texas summers may affect them.

I was wondering if anyone who is passionate enough about their Prius, has the time, and lives in Dallas (preferably close to Preston and maple shade lane or plano), would like to educate me about the Prius, why it is a good choice, salient features of the car and just give me a walk-through of the basic car maintenance and details of the engine components under the hood that I need to be aware of.

I'd really appreciate the info before I go buy one.

I can buy you pizza for your troubles :)

Please lemme know.

Regards,
    Gopal.

Burna J likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    stop by texas hybrid batteries in weather ford and have a chat with matt. he is a member here and a great guy.

my personal opinion is that the prius is a low maintenance vehicle, but can require expensive repairs when it ages.