1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie question just bought a 2012 prius v

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by Erik Gutierrez, Feb 11, 2021.

1. Erik Gutierrez

Erik Gutierrez New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    So i'm totally new to hybrids and Prius. So I purchased a 2012 v from carmax very clean one owner looks to be well cared for 100k miles. What type of Maintanence am I looking for to do next and how long do these cars last when taken care of? After 100k what seems to go out?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and welcome!

first thing to do at that mileage is an egr circuit cleanse and oil catch can addition before the head gasket blows. see @NutzAboutBolts you tube channel, hopefully you don't have any gasket damage yet.
    test the 12v battery health.

change the oil and filter unless you know the service history sand it was done within the last 10k.

check the cabin and engine air filters

clean the hybrid battery cooling fan and intake grille

follow the toyota maintenance schedule, you're close to fluid and plug changes.

all the best!(y)

Aaron Vitolins likes this.
  3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You have coolant and sparkplug replacements in your near future. Sparkplugs are tricky to access. I would check with your seller to determine if they already did these items.

Did the car come with a warranty?

I would go 5k miles max between oil changes. There are significant piston ring issues that you want to avoid. Many other possible problem areas. I would avoid excessive speed over 70 as well. Be aware the hybrid inverter and the special brake pump / master cylinder are warranted with free repairs for certain codes until 10 years from original purchase.

Attached Files:

#3 rjparker, Feb 11, 2021