1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie to the #PriusLife

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Rdarcy, Jan 22, 2020.

1. Rdarcy

Rdarcy Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi everybody. My name is Darcy. I am about to buy my first Prius. I am a travel photographer, and plan to drive across the US and live and work out of my Prius for a year at least. I have been researching and watching all the youtube videos about people who do this, and just found this forum.

i will probably buy a used Prius most likely. Looking for info on the best year in your opinion. Has to be 2010 or later since i may use it for uber now and then. I think uber has a 10 yr rule on cars and lyft has a 12? Either way in that range. I am a tall guy too(6’3”). I understand the Prius v(2011-2017) has 50% more cargo space. But that the 2nd & 3rd gen are the most popular with the Prius Life crowd.

Any advice on what tolook for when buying used? How to check the battery health. I know when buying a used Nissan Leaf there is a diagnostic tool you can buy and use with an app to check battery health. Is there such a thing for the prius?

Oh, and any opinion on wether the Plug in Prius is worth it over the non plug in models when buying used?

I think i’d like to keep the price at $10,000 or less. But willing to go a little higher for the right prius. I live here in NY.

Lastly, once i get my Prius, i am interested in adding a flat solar panel and an extra battery to help charge & run some electronics. So any advice on that would be great. But right now I am just focused on picking the right Tesla model. Thanks for any & all advice!

Cheers!

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two