1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie transmission question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Tony714, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Tony714

Tony714 Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Newbie here. Want to buy a used 2nd gen, and am totally unfamiliar with these cars. I test drove a few, and the CVT chattered at certain instances. Is that normal? Is that a sign of hard use? What is the lifespan of the transmissions?

2. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    At what stage does it chatter? It makes a little noise and vibration when the engine kicks on and off but that's it should be extremely smooth and well mannered once on the road.

But really the main thing to be aware of is if it has the original hybrid battery in the car or has the hybrid battery been "rebuilt".
    Lots of sellers say NEW BATTERY. That usually means its been rebuilt by some Craigslist idiot and will not last long. Rebuilt means they found a same age old battery that hasn't failed yet and stick it in there. If they say brand new dealer battery lets see the receipt.
    Nobody buys a new dealer $3500 battery then sells the car.

I personally think the main reason people sell there G2 Prius is the hybrid battery is in the early stages of failure there mileage has tanked so they get rid of it. And stick unsuspecting owners like yourself who know nothing about the car.

if you see a car you like get its vin go to toyota.com/owners forum join the forum input that vin and it will show all the times its has seen a authorized toyota dealer for service. many times it will show the hybrid battery was condemned and the owner traded it in on the spot and off to auction it goes and then ends up on a used car lot on its last hybrid battery legs. Waiting for you.

padroo likes this.
  3. oldtechaa

oldtechaa Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Alpha
    Model: