1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie with Old Prius (I)

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by SteveWlf, Oct 20, 2012.

1. SteveWlf

SteveWlf Old-on-Hold

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    NewBie here, both in this forum and to my first Prius. :)
    The Prius is an "old timer", 2002 so I guess that would be a Prius I.:D
    Nice condition for 10 years but it had easy/loving care, I understand. Have seen most of the service records since it left dealer service. My biggest concern would be the main batteries since it has a whapping 276,000 miles. No record or indication that the batteries have been replaced. Also I got it at an auction of a dealer inventory. I got some history but the car condition speaks volumes. What my bid objective was Kelly low Blue Book and that is where it got it but other than the mileage, I would put it in the good to excellent range.
    On the first day of driving it, I got a the dreaded red triangle but was on my way home and it didn't effect the driving in hybrid mode. Since I have an OBDII reader and a full set of service manual, I figured I would explore this warning and run the OBDII tests. I found an unlisted code of P3191 and looked that up with a Google search and tracked it now to a Toyota service bulletin 1202, which states:
    "Unknown or other
    Summary
    Some vehicles may exhibit a master, hybrid and malfunction indicator warning light on condition if an abnormally low engine power output has been detected during a particular drive cycle."