NO AUDIO

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Knightrider, Mar 18, 2019.

  1. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Since I revived a car that has sat 7 months w dead HV and low voltage 12v.
    I have been enjoying the car but fighting audio , dome and smart key issues.

    I am curious- replacing the radio- I noticed I have a 30A fuse underhood for AMP, but no physical amp under driver or pass seat.
    I don't see the wire harness under seats either- so was curious- was this an option for 04-05 that was just left in the fuse box?

    Anyone have a stock HU they want to let go cheap?
     
  2. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Anyone had issues w Radio failure also taking the dome lamps out?
    I am about to swap the power distribution module out on the drivers footwell----

    The relays and fuses are all good including the two fuseable links.
     
  3. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    No one?
    Is there a possibility its turned off on the MFD- ?
     
  4. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  5. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Nope- zero dome lamp, smart key or radio function
    MFD says NO AUDIO

    I wondered is this setting I could change w diagnostic mode?
     
  6. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  7. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ive replaced all fuses to make sure they were all in good shape

    Pulled and swapped relays in the cabin as well.

    I am curious I have an AMP fuse but no amp- and do not have the JBL HU
    anyone confirm their non- jbl has the fuse in the underhood.
     
  8. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  9. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  10. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    You know-
    I have been searching this for some time now-
    I am beginning to wonder if I have a failed mfd-

    I will open it up and see if I can see any broken solder joints

    Easily repaired if the case
     
  11. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Underhood 30amp

    Number 45 is 30 amp fuse for amp
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Okay - needing some input

    I did the MFD diag and have Ncon for H/U and Chk on the MFD under Lan check.

    Any ideas?

    Think it's as simple as solder connections on the boards???
     
  13. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I don't know much about the MFD outside of caps going bad. But I do know if you replace your deck there's a special plug needed to make that work that comes with installation package. Like it puts power to the MFD.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  14. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  15. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Are you taking about the in-line 68ohm resistor we need to add?
     
  16. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  17. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I am okay adding that myself-
    I just need to check the solder on the MFD-
     
  18. audiodave

    audiodave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    560
    185
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Did you change your deck?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  19. Knightrider

    Knightrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    75
    13
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I will be upgrading-
    I have not swapped yet-
     
Loading...