1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

No dash panel

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by deafelf, May 15, 2023.

1. deafelf

deafelf New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi All
    I'm new to this for. I've had a 2008 Prius for several years. Its got a problem that keeps getting worse. When I push the start button the check engine light comes on for a few seconds then goes out. The dash panel is blank. I have to unplug the little 12 volt battery in the back for a few seconds. Then the dash lights up normally as it should. The problem has gotten worse this past year. What is the remedy?. What causes this?
    Thanks in advance.

Tombukt2 likes this.
  2. mr_guy_mann

mr_guy_mann Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello and welcome to PriusChat!

What you describe sounds like a fairly common fault on a Gen2 (2004-2009) Prius. The Combination Meter (CM or speedometer- dashboard cluster) can fail to turn on.

What happens is a capacitor on the CM circuit board is just bad enough to sometimes prevent the processor from booting up. Playing games with 12V battery can get things to work- until it doesn't.

Repair is to take apart the dashboard to remove the CM assembly. If you (or someone you know) is good at soldering surface mount electronics, then get new capacitors from DigiKey or Mouser and replace them.

Or you can send the CM to a place like TexasHybridBatteries.com for repair (they also sell exchange units with the odometer programmed- you ship back your old one after swapping).

Last is to get a replacement CM - new ones are very $$$. Used ones will have the odometer reading of the donor car and could have the same capacitor failure at a later time.

The odometer is stored on a chip in the CM.

Here is a long thread about this problem.
    https://priuschat.com/index.php?threads/161268/

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.