No start condition 2012 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by brownsnoutuk, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm hoping someone here has any ideas before I take it to the dealership.

    Two weeks ago my wife was driving on the highway when all the warning lights came on and the engine stopped. She pulled over and checked the codes. P3190 which is 'poor engine power,' was the only code. She restarted the car and drove a couple miles before it shut down again.
    She had the car towed (Flat bed)to my work. I removed the air intake hose and checked the throttle body for oil. There was 1/4" of oil in the lower part of the intake manifold. I took the intake manifold off and cleaned it out, cleaned the intake and the egr pipe while I had it off. Replaced the pcv Valve and cleaned the hose. Put it all back together and the car started but with a noticeable shake. Drove it for an hour and it shut off again. Same code p3190. Cleaned throttle body again, worked the plate to make sure it wasn't sticking. Changed the spark plugs (denso oem).
    Car will only go into ready some times. When it does the engine trys to start or starts but only runs for a minute at most. I think the main drive battery soc is getting low to the point that if I keep trying I will need to charge it. 12v tests good. Fuel is almost full, MAF is clean.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Mileage is 160k.
     
  3. Sam Spade

    Sam Spade Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    2,036
    997
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    How exactly was that test done ?
    You need to check the battery voltage both when the car is "off" and when it is in ACC mode (push button WITHOUT foot on brake).

    If you still have the original 12 v battery, odds are VERY high that is at least part of the problem.

    After that, you need a code scanner or a qualified shop.

    P.S. The search feature on here works fairly good. ;)
     
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,307
    38,214
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    oil level? inverter pump?
     
  5. tankyuong

    tankyuong Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    1,139
    468
    0
    Location:
    Central MO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  6. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Oil level is between marks on the dipstick. Oil condition looks good. Invertor pump is working. Gas treated with seafoam and topped off with fresh gas. Was half full when problems started.
     
  7. maurices

    maurices Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    128
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sartell, Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Look at the 12v battery again. Quite a few of the symptoms described indicate low voltage of the 12v battery.
     
  8. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    12v is 6 months old. Tested Sunday with a midtronics analyser, tested this morning with load tester.
     
  9. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    9,809
    13,341
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Was the seafoam treatment in the tank when the problem started or was it added after the P03190 code? Did you just change the oil recently? Was the Throttle body clean? Have you cleaned the MAF sensor?
     
  10. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Seafoam was added after code. Oil change was about 9000 miles ago on Mobil 1. I change at 10k. Throttle body was clean, I cleaned MAF with proper MAF cleaner.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  11. m.wynn

    m.wynn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    673
    1,180
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury, NY
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Have a look at this TSB just as a reference.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    9,809
    13,341
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Thanks for answering my questions:).

    IMO this doesn't sounds like a mechanically caused issue. You've checked and verified the known causes, and this sounds ECM related. Have you had the TSB @m.wynn linked performed?
     
  13. m.wynn

    m.wynn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    673
    1,180
    0
    Location:
    Queensbury, NY
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The TSB is directed at 2010-11, thus my reference comment. But a Dec. 2011 TSB could potentially leave early production 2012's un-updated, no?..

    Otherwise, I may be inclined to look at fuel pressure. We did have 2 reports of fuel pump failure here in Nov/Dec. If I'm remembering correctly, one of them reported P0171 but no 3190-91. Considering the work the OP has already performed, fuel system seems next step to me.
     
    #13 m.wynn, Apr 27, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2017
    brownsnoutuk and Raytheeagle like this.
  14. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I can't find a port on the fuel rail. Is there a way to check fuel pressure without cutting the feed to the rail? There's a sensor/plug in on the rail. Does the car report fuel pressure and would I be able to read the reported pressure if I purchased a scan gauge or similar?
     
  15. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,307
    38,214
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    plugs and injectors? although, the car not making ready signifies an electrical condition.
     
  16. Former Member 68813

    Former Member 68813 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    3,524
    966
    8
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Any fueling before? Anyone trying to jump start i
     
  17. brownsnoutuk

    brownsnoutuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    185
    118
    0
    Location:
    Shepherd, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Borrowed my friends Solus scanner yesterday. There is a hv ecu code. P3000 low hv battery. I'm sure the battery is low because of the number of attempted starts. What's the best/cheapest way to charge the hv battery without taking it to Toyota?
     
  18. Sam Spade

    Sam Spade Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    2,036
    997
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    There isn't a good way.......for most people, or most shops even.

    But if that IS the problem, it was low/bad BEFORE all of the starting attempts.

    You REALLY should charge/test/replace the 12 V battery first. Or try to jump the 12 V and then try to start.
     
  19. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    38,337
    27,134
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Bring it in to a dealership, spend the $100~150 for a diagnostic, see what's happening? I suspect you're going to end up there anyway, so maybe just go directly.
     
  20. Former Member 68813

    Former Member 68813 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    3,524
    966
    8
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    search for grid charger. the cost is $300+, but if you find a hybrid shop locally that has one, maybe they can do that for a nominal fee.

    googling for P3190 indicates bad fuel pump in addition to the other things the OP checked already (MAF, TB, etc).
     
    #20 Former Member 68813, Apr 30, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2017
Loading...