No Way to Change MPH to KPH on New 2016 Model Three

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Prius44, Mar 14, 2016.

  1. Prius44

    Prius44 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    3
    2
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I will be occasionally taking trips from the US to Canada in my new 2016 Model Three and find that there is no
    setting on the meter display of my car to make any changes to the speedometer display. The owner's manual
    on page 140 shows an icon for making the change from MPH to KPH, but on the actual display in my dash this icon is missing. The icon in the manual does have an asterisk which denotes "if equipped". Is the ability to
    change the speedometer display only available on certain 2016 models? I have the Advanced Technology Package on my Model Three. My Toyota dealer has been unable to answer my question. My Generation 2 and 3 Prius' all had a separate button to make this change, but since the meter control on the settings display of my Gen 4 doesn't even have the km/h MPH setting icon I'm at a loss.
     
  2. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    627
    540
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    Are you going through the menus accessible from the buttons on the right of the steering wheel ?
     
  3. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    39,372
    27,998
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    @Prius Team

    Add this to the list?
     
  4. Prius44

    Prius44 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    3
    2
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yes. As stated in the post, the proper steering buttons to access the menus was done. The km/h MPH icon is missing on my
    Model Three even though it shows an icon available in the owner's manual. Does the change icon appear on the display of any of you
    Prius owner's of the Model Three or Four?
     
  5. mkutner

    mkutner Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    12
    14
    0
    Prius Four - the "km/h MPH" setting shown in the owner's manual is missing from the actual car.
     
  6. KieferSkunk

    KieferSkunk Technogeek

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    60
    25
    0
    Location:
    Seattle Region
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Got a Three here as well, and no setting for this whatsoever. My wife wonders if this is even legal - this must be the only car being sold in North America that doesn't have some way to convert between MPH and KM/H.

    I'm about to take a trip to Canada myself, so I'm going to have to make do with a cheat sheet:

    100 km/h = 62 MPH
    80 km/h = 50 MPH
    60 km/h = 37 MPH


    UPDATE: I'm calling Toyota right now to ask about this. Will update again when I have some sort of response.

    Just spent 45 minutes on hold to be told that there is indeed no way to change the speedo units on this car, at all. The car was "tailored" to the US Market, and the federal government doesn't mandate that the car include km/h. Their suggestion, for real, was to use a cell phone or a calculator to do the conversion manually.

    Still, this seems like such a basic feature, and it's present on virtually every other car on the road in one form or another (whether via a dedicated button, a software setting, some combination of button presses or holds, or an analog meter that shows both speed units at once). It's a mystery to me why they would choose to omit it, and the fact that it's apparently not present on a Touring or an ATP-equipped car either makes it apparent that this was intended to be a feature of the base software.

    I guess we can only hope that (a) Toyota decides at some point to release a software update that will make this settings change possible, and (b) the Canadian government doesn't consider it illegal to drive a car that can only display MPH. (For those buying in Canada, I'm pretty sure the US government doesn't care if your ca can only do km/h.)
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  7. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    627
    540
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    Toyota software to make the change possible... If like the backup beep... Good luck ....
     
  8. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,733
    12,300
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Don't forget 50km/h = 31 mph. 50km/h is the most common speed limit within cities.

    If you're curious, it's the same in Canada. Our owner's manual has a sticker over that page to add the asterisk (if equipped). What do you mean "if equipped"? It's not an option on the list and so far, we haven't found a vehicle model that has it.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  9. C W

    C W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    FWIW, also missing from my (USA) Four with ATP + PCP.

    Is this Toyota's way of stopping cross-border sales?
     
  10. Prius44

    Prius44 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    3
    2
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Just received a return phone call from Toyota HQ to advise that the option to change the speedometer from MPH to KPH is
    not available on my Prius 3. Since the posts to my original message indicate that probably no 2016 Prius built for the US market has this option, I suggested to the HQ representative that a software update be done in the near future. If any fellow 2016 Prius
    owner's want this feature, it would probably be a good idea to phone HQ (1-800-331-4331) and register a complaint and
    request the software update as probably nothing will get done unless a large number complain. The lack of this option is both a
    safety and convenience concern. 16 of the 50 states (32%), border Canada or Mexico. For a $30,000 automobile not to offer
    this option that has been offered in all previous year's models is a shame and concern.
     
    FF/Medic and Mendel Leisk like this.
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    39,372
    27,998
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Yup. Our 3rd gen has a dedicated button on the dash for this. And they're basically saying tough? They've dropped the ball.

    It's funny, with an analog speedo (or digital representation) you just overlay a second scale.

    Capture.JPG
     
  12. Timmins13

    Timmins13 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    17
    8
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I checked, and the option to change MPH to km/hr is not enabled on my car. Sorry I didn't check this before posting.
     
    #12 Timmins13, Mar 21, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
    FF/Medic likes this.
  13. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,496
    7,105
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Have you tried this to verify that it works on your specific car?
     
  14. KieferSkunk

    KieferSkunk Technogeek

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    60
    25
    0
    Location:
    Seattle Region
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    So far, it looks like it won't work on anyone's car.
     
  15. Colin Jones

    Colin Jones Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    97
    170
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeen/UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Business Edition
    It'll be on the UK models here, as it's a legal requirement for cars to be capable of displaying in km/h and mph
     
  16. CBarr31

    CBarr31 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    433
    219
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Anyone know when Toyota is fixing this?

    It is also missing on our 2016. I had to have an employee park in Buffalo and rent a car to drive into Canada to work since driving our 2016 Prius is illegal there since it can't be changed to Kph.

    Quite honestly with all the shortcuts Toyota/Lexus are taking with software and safety I don't think Ema will be replaced with another Prius when she hits 500K next year. Sad since I have owned nothing but Toyota for the last 2 decades.

    Chris
     
    FF/Medic and Mendel Leisk like this.
  17. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,014
    10,621
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I believe it is missing on early 2016 Prius (produced before February 2016?). My 2017 has the option.
    Another forum poster said Toyota's solution to the issue was to buy a newer Prius that has the selection.
     
    #17 Prodigyplace, Nov 28, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
    FF/Medic and Mendel Leisk like this.
  18. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    39,372
    27,998
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I agree, that this situation is preposterous. But just curious, is it actually illegal, to not have the conversion?

    Anyway, I think Toyota's hoping their head-in-the-sand reaction will do the trick on this, I hope it doesn't work out for them.
     
    FF/Medic likes this.
  19. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,014
    10,621
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You could best answer that. My understanding is that not having the conversion is not illegal in the US, but that Canada requires vehicles to be able to display Km/h.
    I know when Canada converted to metric that there were modifications for older cars to show both systems. I had one car from a braindead manufacturer. It had the km/h in blue but you could not read it with the blue dash lights. I put on a scale that had Km.h in yellow to resolve the issue.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  20. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,014
    10,621
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    For vehicle import from the US, see Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations

    (4) A speedometer shall indicate the speed of the vehicle in kilometres per hour or in kilometres per hour and miles per hour. The unit or units of measurement shall be identified on the speedometer or at a location adjacent to it.

    Perhaps there is the same requirement for visitors?

    This page also mandates specific symbols on the dashboard, though. You can see some of them in the US manual, but the US vehicles do not have all of them.
     
    RCO and Mendel Leisk like this.
Loading...