1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Noobster

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Steel Rat, Dec 15, 2021.

1. Steel Rat

Steel Rat New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hello All,

I'm a new Prius owner. Well, I don't own a new Prius, but I'm new to them.

I bought a 2012 plug-in model from my step-mom for 10k. It has 73k miles, and I more or less know its history. My dad was the primary driver, but he passed away a few weeks ago, so I offered to buy it from her. I looked up trade-in values and they ranged from 8-12k, and comparable models for sale from dealers and individuals were going for 15-25k. I wanted to make sure she got fair value for it without breaking my bank.

I don't know the specific package (trim level?), doesn't seem any obvious way to find out. It does not have fog lights or Auto headlights, if that helps. Otherwise, it has full power windows and locks, climate control, XM radio. My Step-mom had heated seats added after purchase.

I read through the Newb posts, dos and don'ts, good stuff in there.

Still confused about the gas volume though. Does the 2012 still have the internal fuel tank bladder? Supposedly the tank is 11.9 gallons. But with one bar left, it only took 7.8 gallons. So yeah, confused. I'll probably just do what most people say they're doing, fill up at about half a tank, that would be every other day for me.

On the plus side, it looks like I'm getting at least 40MPG (I write down my mileage at the end of each day, so it was a simple calc when I filled up the second and third times), driving for Doordash and Uber Eats in a smallish Navy town, doing about 100 miles a day.

Anyway, just here to get my 4 posts in ;)

TGrracie and bisco like this.
  2. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    My condolences on your loss.