Odd display on audio equipment

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by kgall, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. kgall

    kgall Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    984
    151
    2
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula, WA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    You may have to be willing to drive it in as soon as you see it happen, and not turn off the engine until after they have seen it. Since you have the extended warranty, it will be interested to see what they tell you.
    My problem has popped up again in the last few days--the display goes blank, but the radio itself stays on.
     
  2. detroit11

    detroit11 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    9
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    mine hasnt done in for a week. I am driving a few hundred miles this weekend so I will be able to see then :)
     
  3. DumbMike

    DumbMike Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    554
    118
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Have any of you tried a reboot? I have no idea what the problem is and I have no idea whether it will work. The HU in my Explorer had to be rebooted every once in awhile for weird reasons like this (I recall it gave some type of error on the screen). Maybe just taking out the fuse for the HU will do it. But I recall for my Explorer, I had to disconnect the batter terminal. Note that there are other issues when you disconnect the battery, so make sure you know what they are beforehand. Somewhere on these boards, it says the stuff you have to reset after you disconnect and reconnect the battery (I think it's in the Mods section). Maybe somebody else can help with that.

    Mike
     
    kgall likes this.
  4. kgall

    kgall Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    984
    151
    2
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula, WA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Haven't tried a reboot yet, but maybe I will.
    One of these years soon I'm going to need a new 12 V battery, and then I will have an automatic reboot, right?
     
  5. DumbMike

    DumbMike Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    554
    118
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    At least as far as the HU goes. But I think you might want to try it now? But before doing it, you should see what else you'll need to do once you reattach the 12V battery. I recall it was the time and something else. I don't think it was much, but I didn't want to be blamed for not warning you ahead of time.

    Mike
     
    kgall likes this.
Loading...