1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

OEM TrueStart Battery vs ACDelco B24R replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by GKinslow, Jan 12, 2021.

1. GKinslow

GKinslow Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    2007 Prius Touring w/Smartkey. Bad OEM battery just beyond 24-mo free replacement. Dealer has a new one (TrueStart by Interstate) but ACDelco has an allegedly exact replacement (ACDB24R) available from Amazon for $173 with the same 24-mo free replacement 84-mo prorated warranty. I know the new ACDelco will cost more initially, but this OEM Interstate battery should have lasted far longer than 2 years. Replacing it myself. Recommendations?

More than two years on, and I'm still learning how to use all of the features, like pulling up the display to check the 12V battery voltage and determine its status. Reads 14V when the hybrid battery is recharging it and 11.4V when turned off.

My daughter drives it and hands it to me when something breaks. YouTube is a gift.

#1 GKinslow, Jan 12, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2021
  2. GKinslow

GKinslow Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Never mind. Stupid question. I think it would be easier to deal with a prorated OEM battery and core return at the dealer than another battery through Amazon. I believe both are manufactured by Johnson Controls.

bisco and SFO like this.
  3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    If an agm battery failed that soon, I would suspect excessive parasitic load which would continue with a new battery. Have the off state load properly measured with an inline ammeter. Should be around 20 ma or less. Often a car that is driven daily will still start with an excessive current drain but the battery life will suffer.

GKinslow likes this.
  4. mr_guy_mann

mr_guy_mann Senior Member