1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

OEM vs aftermarket catalytic converter

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Ananda13, Oct 21, 2021.

1. Ananda13

Ananda13 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    newbie here.

My catalytic converter was stolen from my 09 prius and my insurance paid for a replacement from a local exhaust shop. I haven't picked up the car yet but I was reading online the importance of getting an OEM part vs. aftermarket so I called the shop to get more info on the part they installed.

He said he installed a "direct fit" part, not a "universal" and they even if I had the work done at the dealership it would be the same part and the only way to get true OEM would be to go back in time and get it from the assembly line.

So my question is, how important is it to get "OEM" and how is it different than "direct fit" or whatever he likely installed? Should I push my insurance to pay for a more expensive replacement?

Thanks in advance for you help!

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    In California the visual inspection of the smog test requires the inspector to confirm it is an OEM or the most expensive non-OEM replacement cat ($700-$2K). If you lived in a different state you could put on a cat that costs less than $200. Some people have gotten away with this more affordable replacement cat in California if the inspector doesn't follow the rules / is lazy, but that's relatively rare.

4. Another

Another Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The repair guy is an idiot.

5. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring