1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Oil change and Tire Pressure observations

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by abq sfr, Aug 11, 2007.

1. abq sfr

abq sfr New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I just changed my oil at 5005 mi. At first I studied John's instructions about jack points, studied where the locations would be for the drain plug and filter, etc. After I got down there, I found I could do everything very easily with the car lifted only an inch or two, and could have done it really easily with no other instructions. Next time I'll drive on to a 2x4 and have an easy time of it. I think this car is the easiest of all the cars I've owned. Some other observations...

The crush washer was stuck on the oil pan and I didn't try to remove it. On my 2000 Sienna I'm still using the original one, and have never had any kind of leak.

The OEM oil filter was really overtightened. I went to the closest auto store (AutoZone) and got their cheap sheet metal wrench, which did not work. Went to Checker and got the graphite one recommended here, and it worked like a champ. Lesson learned... listen to PriusChatters!

There is a column of oil above the filter even after draining through the plug... be prepared for it to run down your arm onto the floor. Not sure what the lesson is there... I can see the filter from the top and I have long arms, maybe I can finish unscrewing it from above and avoid the oily arm.