Oil Filter Question

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by CdotK, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello all,
    Well i have to do my first oil change on my 2014 Prii. I noticed that a factory oil filter is just a paper filter with nothing on the ends. I went to my local autozone/parts store and the FRAM filter has rubber on the ends. Is it ok to use that type of filter, does anyone have experience with FRAM oil filters on the prius?
    Thanks.
     
  2. FuelMiser

    FuelMiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    929
    652
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I ordered the genuine Toyota filters at Amazon.com. I bought a five-pack for around $25. That's pretty cheap. I also bought the blue nylon drain plug washers at the same time. Oh, and the oil filter canister wrench/tool, too. There's a good YouTube video on changing the Gen III Prius oil/filter that you should also take a look at.
     
  3. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    yup watched the youtube video already, good to go on that.
    Dont want to have to wait till sat. to get stuff from Amazon thus the reason i bought the FRAM oil filter.
     
  4. Yakoma

    Yakoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    470
    120
    0
    Location:
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    From your description, the Fram doesn't sound like the right one...got a picture?
     
  5. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    i do...
    20150115_150637.jpg 20150115_150657.jpg
     
  6. mchbc

    mchbc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  7. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks for the response. Just had me worried with the rubber end.
     
  8. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Update. Everything went well, filter fit fine, car runs fine.
    Removing the oil filter cap.. That was a pain in the butt.. It was so tight i thought i was going to break my wrench.
    Thanks for all the help.
     
  9. Jonny Zero

    Jonny Zero Giggidy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    1,388
    350
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Was it tight from the factory or has it been over tightened by the dealer or a shop?
     
  10. CdotK

    CdotK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    376
    46
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It was tight from the dealership. Im at 40K so they have changed the oil since the start. Now that my free oil change deal is done because i am over the millage.. i have to start doing it myself.
    $46 to do it myself (oil and filter) OR $75+tax for them to do it... (given they rotate the tires and top off fluids) but i did all that myself.
    But yeah.. it was stupid tight.. took me like 30mins of prying to break it loose.
     
  11. Yakoma

    Yakoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    470
    120
    0
    Location:
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    >>$46 to do it myself (oil and filter)

    AND know that it's done right the first time!
    Goodonya.
     
  12. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sunday driver DIY’r

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,639
    30,508
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I was the first person to loosen ours, after the factory install. It was no problem. Took a bit of effort, being a large diameter item, but it didn't feel like anything was going to break or round-off, and took only moderate effort. I don't even have the official Toyota socket, just a Honda one, correct dimension, but doesn't have the extension with slots to fit the stiffeners.

    They should really take the dealerships doing this to task.

    (spec'd. torque is 18 ft/lb)
     
Loading...