On snow?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by lunabelgium, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. pdth

    pdth Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    95
    32
    0
    Location:
    Castle Pines North, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I drove it on packed snow this morning and found it really handles well. Although I could force the tires to spin by gunning it, they gripped the packed snow just fine if I drove more sanely, and went through deep slush (more than 6" deep) without a problem. I tried to make it spin out on a turn but I guess I wasn't going fast enough to make the car slide, as it went around the turn just like on dry pavement. I guess I'll have to be more daring next time. Anyway, it feels good and I think I'll easily come to trust it in snow, without any special tires.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Fstr911

    Fstr911 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    235
    55
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Maineiac, to this South Florida Prius driver "really cold" in Florida is the upper 60's. Anything lower than that is bitter cold. :)
     
  3. Maineiac

    Maineiac Monkey Wrencher

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    71
    9
    0
    Location:
    lobsterland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Sorry, guess I should have said N. Florida. (Georgia?)

     
  4. G3priusV

    G3priusV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    131
    17
    0
    Location:
    UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    You are right! Now it's getting close to single digit! So, I sure would be happy to be in Fla this time of the year! :)
     
  5. G3priusV

    G3priusV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    131
    17
    0
    Location:
    UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Really? That sounds really promising and you've just made me happy! So you can really drive okay on snow without any special/ snow tires? Thanks!!!!! :)
     
  6. 007

    007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    157
    3
    0
    Location:
    Antigonish, Nova Scotia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two

    I'm in Nova Scotia, we usually get some snow in January so hopefully the Prius will go through the stuff, as compared to my GMC Torrent, I know it would't be as good but them the breaks huh.
     
  7. Rhino

    Rhino New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    460
    40
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    If you get snow tires, do you have to buy extra tire pressure monitors and install them in the snow tires. Or do you run around without tire pressure monitoring and with the tire light on all winter.

    Just conjecturing on how the tire pressure monitors work. My Prius is coming in 3 weeks so it is all hypo for me. Still, I wanted to know about the solution.
     
  8. RodJo

    RodJo Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    423
    56
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    It depends.... The tire pressure monitors are mounted to the wheels so....

    If you remove your stock tires and put snow tires on the original wheels, you are all set.

    If you use separate winter wheels, then you can either buy 4 new sensors and pay the dealer to reprogram the system every time you swap wheels OR save your money by skipping the sensors and living with the light during the winter (my choice).
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. lunabelgium

    lunabelgium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    269
    21
    17
    Location:
    Belgium (Liège)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks to all for your comment.
    I Got my P3 Luna (in Belgium, we have Terra, Luna, Sol & Solar Premium) since Nov. 9.
    Original tires are Michelin Primacy HP but I bought winter tires with Pirelli W210S2.
    http://fr.toyota.be/Images/Winter Check_ A5H_F_tcm295-933666.pdf (see page 3)
    Wow, I love this car even if she's the ancestor of the tomorrow's car.
     
  10. Mt View

    Mt View Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    170
    22
    0
    Location:
    Pine, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    My choice also although it would be nice if someone could identify the wire that energizes the light so I could put a switch under the dash to turn it off. Mine blinks sometimes which can be a bit distracting.
     
  11. RodJo

    RodJo Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    423
    56
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Others have suggested covering the light with a piece of electrical tape. Maybe some cheap kind with weak adhesive. Or a Post-It type thing....
     
  12. pdth

    pdth Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    95
    32
    0
    Location:
    Castle Pines North, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have a new appreciation for the little shift knob in my 2010 now. Sunday night I parked along a curb on a very slushy street while attending a party. A snowplow came by and added more slush, which then froze. The tires were embedded pretty deep. I found that the position of the shift knob and the instant response of the electric motor made it very easy to rock the car and control the rocking motion, enabling me to get the car out of a very difficult spot without having to break out the shovel.

    Driving home on the ice I also finally had a good test of the traction control, which works great when the tires start to slide.
     
  13. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,058
    3,036
    7
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Despite some posts to the contrary, you can also rock the 2006 and later Gen II Prius. I've done it many times given some of the places we drive the Prius to go ice climbing.

    Tom
     
  14. Earman

    Earman CDN Prius III Technology Blue

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    78
    11
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I wanted to buy steelies and skip the pressure sensors. However, the 3 tire places I talked to refused to mount the tires on steelies without the pressure sensor! They say they are liable if they do. If the car is equipped with it (all the new cars have have it by law) it is a safety item and they cannot bypass safety items.

    I ended-up just replacing the tires on the original rims.
     
  15. spiderman

    spiderman wretched

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    7,525
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What I did is just brought in the loose tires and rims (in another vehicle) and they never said a word.
     
  16. Judgeless

    Judgeless Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    1,824
    250
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I ordered 4 195/65R-15 Michelin X-Ice Xi2 Green X on 15x6.5 Elbrus I05 SDC ICE rims from Tire Rack that are sitting in the garage waiting for snow.

    [​IMG]

    The were rated #1 from Consumer Reports. The tread pattern looks good.

    [​IMG]

    I decided not to get the sensors. Tire Rack will mount them with out sensors. Here is a pic of them next to the rims currently on the car. They look good.

    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,724
    12,288
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    wow... what a bunch of crap. Even if they did mount it with tire pressure sensors, do they have the equipment to pair the sensors up with the car's computer chip? Cause if they do, I'm sure as heck that's another additional cost (for now, cars only have memory for 4 sensors so you have to pair them every time you swap tires. Hopefully they can store 8 sensors in the future or have someway to knowing whether we have winter or summer tires mounted).
     
  18. billshadow00

    billshadow00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    17
    8
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV

    Cool! I just installed almost the same setup on my 2010 Prius IV. Same tires with the Elbrus I04 wheels (metallic finish on the face of the wheel with black on the inside of the spokes; looks good with my Winter Gray Prius).

    I went ahead and had the TPMS sensors installed, but instead of going to the dealer, I ordered an ATEQ TPMS "Quickset" tool online for $150. The Quickset tool allows me to code in the summer and winter sensors myself.

    The sensors and the tool were a little pricey, but I couldn't stand having my brand new car driving around without all systems working properly. And, since I plan to drive the car for many years (I drove my last two cars 12 years each), it only amounts to a few bucks a year.

    It still irks me that Toyota expects people to pay twice a year to switch the TPMS codes. Compared to the dealer price and the inconvenience of having to run by the dealership every time I change wheels, the Quickset tool will pay for itself quickly. I can confirm it worked for me (with a few minor hiccups along the way that were quickly resolved).

    BTW, I did drive around in some meaningful snow before switching to snow tires. The Prius did just fine, but having lived in CO for 15 years, I'm convinced that snow tires are the way to go. When you need them, you really want to have them (e.g., quick stops on icy or snowy roads, avoiding drivers without snow tires ;-)

    Cheers!
     
  19. Judgeless

    Judgeless Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    1,824
    250
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Instead of spending $350+ on new TPMS sensors and $150 for a tool to program them. I am going down a different route.

    I predict in 2 years the sensors will be half the price and even less in 3 years. I have a copy of the Toyota Techstream software. I am going to buy the Mongoose OBDC cable soon for $500. This will give me full access to reprogram the TPMS sensors and many other things. This is the same tool chain the Toyota dealers use.

    Part of me wants to take the 4 sensors out of the existing tires and mount them in a 1” chunk of PVC tube with caps on both ends, pressurized to 35 PSI. I could keep the tube in the trunk and never have to worry about TPMS sensors again.

    I do not need a blinking LED to tell me one of my tires are low. I am 41 years old and after driving for 25 years I can tell when a tire is low while driving.
     
  20. Bobby

    Bobby New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I went to Sears Auto today to get some snow tires for my 2010 Prius and the guy looked through the computer and told me there was nothing available for my car, even if he ordered them. Now, how is this possible? I'd really like to get my tires from Sears since I have an account with them. Any ideas on this issue?
     
Loading...