1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

One Month with a 2016 Prius 4

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by mshoo1, Mar 29, 2016.

1. mshoo1

mshoo1 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Tomorrow marks a full month with my 2016 Prius 4. I have a silver Prius (black leather interior) with the advanced technology package and the convenience package. I am new to the Prius family, having previously owned VWs, BMWs, and Audis. I wanted to share a few of my takeaways after only a month of ownership.

Things I Like:
    • MPG – According to the Prius computer, I am averaging 62.3 mpg after 768 miles of driving. That includes roughly 40% of travel in bumper to bumper commuter traffic (NOVA/DC), 30% highway, and roughly 30% normal city traffic. I also have an Automatic OBD device and the accompanying iPhone app. The Automatic OBD pegs me at 60 mpg – roughly 2 mpg less than the Prius display.

• Interior Room – As a first time Prius owner, I continue to be amazed at the functional size of the interior cabin given the small size of the car. It easily accommodates our small family (2 adults and 11 year old child).

• Smooth Ride – The road feel is much smoother and less bumpy than my old Audi.

• Parking Assist – Saw it as more of gimmick than anything else when purchasing, but it has actually been quite helpful in and around DC for parallel parking. It has worked flawlessly thus far with one caveat, it tends to park the car much closer to the curb than I would be comfortable doing on my own.

• Siri Eyes Free – While it’s not CarPlay, it allows me to call up music, send text messages, and make phone calls via voice without touching my iPhone. It helps make up for the terrible voice recognition in the native Entune system.